Help w/ Airport Extreme Password Protection

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by kbrown, Feb 10, 2007.

1. kbrown macrumors newbie

Hello,

This is probably a really, really dumb question... but please help if you can because it is driving me nuts. I'm basically a newbie and just purchased the Airport Extreme so that my wife can use her new work provided PC laptop via wireless network at the same time I use the (superior) IMac...

Here's the problem: the internet works great! However, even though I thought I set up everything correctly, there is absolutely no password protection for the wireless network and as a result everyone in the neighborhood can access.

I thought that I followed the directions precisely. I plugged everything in, started it up and I selected a password using the strongest (I believe) WPA security.

However, both the IMac and the notebook easily log into the wireless network without any password required. In fact, the PC says that the network is "unprotected".

When I go back in to reconfigure the network, it states that it is password protected (but no password is required to access.... HUH???)

When I finish set-up it always says "There was an error joining the wireless network 'X'. Try selecting 'X' from the Airport Menu." I go up to the top menu bar and select the network. It doesn't require a password and I can use the internet fine, even though I previously told it that a password should be required.

I then try and go into the Airport Setup Administrator. It asks me to "Select the Airport Base Station you want to modify. If it is not on the list, click 'Scan Again'." Well, it is never on the list and when I go to scan again it doesn't show up.

Weird, however, that the internet works fine (just not protected). What am I missing? I've tried restarting everything a couple of times, but I get the same thing every time... the internet works, it's just that nothing is protected.