Help w/some basic functions for a newly Mac converted

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by hopper8, Jun 7, 2011.

1. hopper8 macrumors newbie

I’m new to MAC and I’m trying to figure out some simple function in OS X, which I used until recently in my PC. I’m reading some basic tutorials, but these are issues for which I couldn’t find an easy resolution and which for any Mac user are probably very easy. So instructions on these would be greatly appreciated!

1. How do I save URL shortcuts on my Mac desktop? I’m using Firefox and OS X 10.6.7

2. How can I view in finder all sub folders of a folder in alphabetical order and then all documents that are in that folder (not within any of the subfolders)?

3. How do I delete the letter AFTER the cursor when I write something? In PC, I used the button ‘delete’ to do so, but in MAC, when I press delete, it deletes the letter that was just BEFORE the cursor (in PC there was another button for this)

4. Moving to last opened window: If I have several opened windows (in different spaces) and I just want to go back and forth between two different windows (e.g. between one of pdf and one of the several Word docs) either within the same space of from different spaces, is there a command shortcut to go back to the previous window I had opened and then back and forth?

Thanks so much,

Hopper

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Helpful Information for Any Mac User

Drag from the address bar in Firefox to your Desktop.
    In other words, you want folders to sort before files. There are many threads on this:
    Can I sort folders to display before files? - MacRumors Forums
    Snow Leopard - Finder - Sort folders first, then files - MacRumors ...

fn+Delete
    I'm not sure I understand your question.

3. Jolly Jimmy macrumors 65816

Jolly Jimmy

1. Highlight the URL in the address bar, click and hold for a second or so, then drag and drop to the desktop.

2. Not natively possible in OS X unfortunately.