Help: What is the best way to backup my MBPr?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Hieveryone, Jan 16, 2016.

  1. Hieveryone macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #1
    Should I get the time capsule? Do the Western Digital ones work OK?
     
  2. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #2
    Time Capsule is a good option that includes a hard disk, router, & wi-fi. Do you need a router & wi-fi also?
    Time Machine to back up or restore information from Apple. Using other solutions (such as NAS or MyCloud) that are not recommended by Apple may not be reliable.
    Other possible solutions for external drives when connected to your MBP:
    Carbon Copy Cloner (my preferred)
    SuperDuper
     
  3. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    Pick your favorite external drive, or an Apple Time Capsule, or plug a NAS into your router and just use Time Machine.

    https://www.apple.com/support/backup/
     
  4. KimUsername macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #4
    Western Digital will work fine. Just format it for mac.
    I use Carbon Copy Cloner, $40.00 from Bombich. https://bombich.com
    It will make a complete bootable backup. If you drive were to crash, the Carbon Copy Cloner backup is bootable.
    Super Duper is also good. A time machine backup is not as easy to recover from a hard drive failure.

    Kim
     
  5. killawat macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #5
    Add solutions based on your level of protection.

    Zero Downtime: If you're going after Zero downtime choose Carbon Copy Cloner with a USB HDD, any drive will do like the WD series you've posted, and have it set to backup every 12 or 24 hours.

    File Protection: If you're looking for protection against stuff like accidental deletion, file corruption etc, choose Time Machine with an HDD that has sufficient space for your needs; more storage = more protection.

    Best is a hybrid approach. Partition a single drive of 1-2 Tb into two partition, one for CCC's bootable copy, the other as a time machine volume.
     
  6. Hieveryone thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #6
    I'm so confused. I"m using time machine and backing up to an external hard drive, but how let's say the hard drive crashes on my MBPr.

    And then I get a new MBPr.

    How would I restore everything to my NEW MBPr from my external hard drive?

    I am using time machine btw.

    EDIT: Would I use migration assistant??
     
  7. ajcgn, Jan 16, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2016

    ajcgn macrumors regular

    ajcgn

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #7
    I can't tell you the best way, but I use time machine on the Air port time capsule. It came in handy twice:
    I accidentally deleted a file and recovered it a couple of weeks later.
    Last year I had a hard disk failure and I was able to restore my early 2011 MBP completely. I guess I got lucky as all settings, programs and data were restored from the time machine back up. Saved me hours upon hours of effort as I have a lot crap built up over the years.
    I can't rembember exactly how I restored my MBP, but it was not that difficult, I think all I had to go was restore from back up as opposed to setting up a brand new Mac. Mind you, the repair shop reinstalled the OS for me.
     
  8. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #8
    I'm not sure why you're confused.

    Everything you need to know is right there in a link that has already been posted.

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201250#restore
     
  9. Hieveryone thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #9
    Can anyone tell me if this is right or not?

    I have a MBPr. I am using time machine to backup my computer to an external hard drive (Western digital).

    Tomorrow, God forbid, my MBPr hard drive completely fails and I throw it away in the garbage.

    Luckily, I have the external drive (Western Digital) and has a backup.

    I go to the Apple store and by a brand new MBPr.

    I plug in my external drive that has the backup from my failed MBPr and transfer my data.

    Is this right?
    --- Post Merged, Jan 16, 2016 ---
    This didn't answer my question for 2 reasons.

    1) It says if you want to do a complete restore it has to be on the same Mac. In my scenario my Mac has already failed.

    2) For migration assistant, it seems like you need BOTH macs, and like I said in my scenario my Mac has already failed.

    All I have is a backup on Time Machine. How can I get the backup in Time Machine onto a new Mac?
     
  10. simonsi macrumors 601

    simonsi

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Auckland
    #10


    In that scenario I would take the NEW MBPr, boot it from my CCC bootable backup, then run CCC and clone the backup drive to the NEW MBPr, once complete reboot the new MBPr and away you go...
     
  11. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #11
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201314

    It doesn't require it to be the same Mac.

    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204350

    All the information is there if you take the time to read through it.

     
  12. Hieveryone thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #12
    All I have is a backup via time machine on an external hard drive

    Is that enough?
     
  13. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #13
    Read the information on the links that have been posted. Every one of your questions are answered there.
     
  14. Hieveryone thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #14
    Ok I took the time to read it. Is this right?

    I would NOT use migration assistant. That REQUIRES the older Mac.

    I would use Command + R and get the backup from my external hard drive.

    Also, I have a password on my external hard drive. Is that OK?

    I also have multiple accounts. Will all of them be restored?
     
  15. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #15
    It does NOT require the old Mac! Please read more carefully.
     
  16. Hieveryone thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #16
    I just noticed this. It only requires a time machine backup, which could be on my external hard drive.

    Question:

    I'm using Mavericks and and backing up.

    If I got a new Mac, it would have El Capitan.

    Would I still be able to use the backup?
     
  17. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #17
    No it doesn't. The information at the link I provided states that you can use migration assistant from a time machine backup.

    I don't know about the password part, because I don't know how you're password protecting it.

    But yes you can restore multiple accounts.

    It's very very easy.
     
  18. Hieveryone thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #18
    The password part is there only from the Mac. I didn't use third party software.
     
  19. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #19
    I don't see any reason why it wouldn't work.

    Boot up in recovery mode and see if it can access the password protected drive if you're worried about it.
     
  20. Hieveryone thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #20
    Ok! Will do. Also, I am using Mavericks. The new Mac would have El Capitan. Is that OK? My backup on the external drive is of course Mavericks...
     
  21. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #21
    The only time I've heard of issues between OS versions was when someone tried to restore something from a backup of an old PPC based Mac to an Intel based Mac.
     
  22. Hieveryone thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    #22
    Ok cool. I don't have a PPC I don't think. Mines a late 2013 MBPr.

    So I should be fine.

    I might another external hard drive and keep 2 backups just for safety.

    Not sure if that's a good idea or not.

    Does anyone here do that?
     
  23. David58117 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    #23
    I always like to start fresh, so I don't make disk images, and all important data I save to cloud storages redundantly, as well as numerous back up hard disks I keep.

    Reinstalling everything is generally pretty quick, and I use it as a test to make sure transfer speeds of ports and everything works.
     
  24. KimUsername macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #24
    I use Carbon Copy Cloner and yes I make 2 backups. Is it necessary, probably not but in my case I have had a Western Digital Passport external drive fail on me, so it gives me peace of mind having 2 backups.

    Kim
     
  25. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #25
    Personally I use Superduper & Carbon Copy Cloner; Time Machine is a good file archival application, however for full disk restore there are better more reliable options. A bootable clone is also the fastest way to get up and running, should the internal drive fail.

    Q-6
     

Share This Page