HELP! why is my Macbook Pro 13 sooo laggy?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hazedragon45, Mar 22, 2010.

1. hazedragon45 macrumors regular

Hey, I'm a newb at these things.. but my macbook has been soo laggy lately and I only use it for school work.. I haven't installed anything... nor do i run multiple applications at a time. Right now on Firefox, if i type fast in the search bar.. it LAGS like mad.. then the swirly rainbow shows up... and this is the only thing open. How can i check for something wrong?

2. perryj macrumors member

dumb question but have you shut it off and done a restart to clear the ram ?

3. Ice Dragon macrumors 6502a

Ice Dragon

How much RAM do you have? I am sure it does have to do with your internet though Firefox can be a RAM hog.

4. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

All of the above
    Restart your machine
    Restart Firefox
    Clear your cache

Then see what you have and go from there

5. beaner454 macrumors regular

Wait am I missing something? Are there two different people telling him that it's his Internet speed that is causing the lag?

What would that have to do with the pinwheel of death that he's talking about? Please enlighten me if this indeed a documented issue.

Something definitely sounds wrong if you have indeed not installed many applications, are only running firefox, and are just trying to do a google search.

You might want to try the standard repair permissions which is in the Disk Utility app, and resetting the PRAM by restarting your machine and then immediately holding down command+option+P+R until you hear your laptop make the start up noise for a 2nd time.

6. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

Not his internet speed, but the Firefox app
    Yes, it can get clunky and unresponsive

7. hazedragon45 thread starter macrumors regular