Help, Windows XP on Vmware won't boot

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by brian9271, Jul 18, 2008.

  1. brian9271 macrumors 6502

    brian9271

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Next door
    #1
    Hey guys, earlier on today, I used Windows XP on Vmware, then I had to go out, so I didn't shut down my Windows XP properly, instead, holding down the on/off button I shut down everything, my Mac and Windows, but later on today, I booted up my Mac, excited, ran Vmware then booted up Windows, what came up on my Windows was Start Normally and Run Safe Mode, or recover from last time and so on, I tried all of them, no luck, after clicking on one of them, it would boot up, but then reboot and end up into the same position, Start Normally and so on, I restarted my Mac, here is an image of a blue screen - (not blue screen of death)...

    Any help would be really great, thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    0x00000024 errors all seem to basically relate to file system/driver errors.

    Why the hell didn't you shut Windows and your Mac down properly? It's pure stupidity to just bomb things off unless there's a good reason to (hard crashed).

    Boot it up, before Windows starts loading start hitting F8, select Safe Mode, login, open a command prompt. run "chkdsk /f" and hope for the best....that's if Safe Mode will even work.

    You might be screwed, and end up having to do a reinstall.
     
  3. brian9271 thread starter macrumors 6502

    brian9271

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Next door
    #3

    Hey edesignuk, how could I get a clone of my Windows? Also, command prompt? I can't even get to the login page...
     
  4. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    Why would you clone a broken machine???

    If you can't even get in to Safe Mode, it's pretty much a lost cause.

    Rebuild!
     
  5. brian9271 thread starter macrumors 6502

    brian9271

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Next door
    #5
    Well, I would like to delete it first, uninstall it actually, I have put it on an External HD, after uninstalling would you think my space would grow back?
     
  6. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    VMware "machines" are self contained in ~/Documents/Virtual Machines I think.

    Just delete the machine from the VMWare list (select it and press delete or backspace, I can't remember which). Then go and delete the file from the Virtual Machines folder.

    Now you're ready to start from scratch.
     
  7. brian9271 thread starter macrumors 6502

    brian9271

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Next door
    #7
    Many thanks edesignuk, I have started Windows again from scratch, luckily I just had installed it and was new for like 2 days or so.
     
  8. jaybonner macrumors newbie

    jaybonner

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    One other option

    You may want to create a Boot Camp Partition first and then use VMware to run it. I have found this a very stable and better compatibility with USB attachments than installation through VMware. Also, you may have a better chance to boot into Boot Camp natively and fix problems... just a thought
     
  9. brian9271 thread starter macrumors 6502

    brian9271

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Next door
    #9
    Nice thinking, both are good to me, and yes, Boot Camp is pretty stable with the USB attachments, I'm looking forward to getting Vista onto Boot Camp
     
  10. ScottSyrNY macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Syracuse NY
    #10
    I'm new to the Mac and recently, last week, installed Vista Home Premium 64 bit on my MBP via (bootcamp) so I can run such things as AutoCad but yet want the flexibility to use VM for the less resource intensive tasks. I should mention that I love OS X and that I'll be using it 95% of the time and wonder what took me so long to switch OS.

    So, the lead-in to my question: I was told by the Apple genius that, for general stability, I should load Vista through VM then bootcamp (which contradicts the above post). I have read a bit on these forums and it seems there are varying philosophies on the install procedure; ie bootcamp or VM first versus stability.

    Is there a definitive answer or has that not been established yet? Or, is it dependent on the computing needs of the end user? Or combination thereof? Is there a clear write-up on this that I have missed? If so, can someone provide a link?

    Also, when installing Vista, I used the install disks at the Apple store for the necessary drivers since mine were currently 1700 miles away. If I was to remove the bootcamp partition and reinstall Vista through VM, will I have the necessary drivers on my set of install disks that I now have in my possession? If not, are they available online, other than a torrent download that I seen posted somewhere on here?

    Sorry for the multitude of questions. Hope I was clear and that the replies will be helpful to the OP as well.

    Thanks in advance.
     

Share This Page