Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ayemerica

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Oct 18, 2011
Atlantis but in space
Hey there everyone! Not 100% sure this is the right spot to ask but here it goes.

I have a 2016 Non-Touch-Bar MacBook Pro, that has been taking a little turn for the worse.

Issue 1. Audio Jack- All headphones work but will random stop playing if I slightly move. ASWELL as no-inline mic will work with it. I've tried so many headphones and even returned a pair of beats Solos since I thought it was the inline mic on it and not the jack itself.

Issue 2. Keyboard- Keys will randomly stop working if the computer gets warm, will require NOTICEABLY hard presses and stop flow of typing whilst im working (remote technician for amazon). I've been battling this one for the last 3 months, have had a couple calls with apple who basically instruct me to the cleaning guide / then to the NVRAM PRAM guide if that doesn't work.

Issue 3. Random clicks? The laptop will just randomly click and make a "popping sound" while im using it. With headphones on you wont notice it to much, but if I am in my university library it can be obvious after a few clicks where it is coming from. I have real no way to replicate this which brings me to my final thought and my actual question.

How do I get them to swap this thing out? Will they make the argument that the laptop is approaching a certain age and some things will be expected? I've never had to swap out a laptop before, many phones, many iPads and many many annoying visits back with light bleeding from my original iMac retina. Any tips to get this thing swapped out / credit towards the same model color. I can not be with out my laptop for more than 24 hours. Any help is appreciated, take care!

Reactions: jeyf

raqball

macrumors 68020
Sep 11, 2016