Help with Airport Extreme setup

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by benlee, May 20, 2016.

  1. benlee macrumors 65816

    benlee

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #1
    Hello All,

    I need some advice on best setup for networking.

    Current Setup:

    Basement: Verizon Fios Router (the wireless is turned off)
    1st Floor: 1st Generation Time Capsule (set up for N and G)- The Time Capsule is hooked to the Router, but provides all of the wireless to the house. It backs up via Wi-Fi my Macbook Air and via Ethernet my iMac
    Attic: iMac hardwired to Time Capsule downstairs
    Garage: Airport Express older "N" generation (hardwired)-I have this setup as a separate wireless network with same name and password as the one for the Time Capsule. My devices (near seamlessly) switch to that network when I am outside.

    Future Setup:

    I purchased a Fifth Generation Generation Airport Extreme, which I would like to replace the Time Capsule with. However, I still need the Time Capsule in my setup for backups. Should I just move the Time Capsule to the attic? Would it extend the network or just be an access point?



    Thanks for any advice?
     
  2. satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #2
    Just remember the current AirPort Extreme will let users connect a USB2 port and act like a Time Machine target! This way if the current external dies you can just replace that external!
     
  3. benlee thread starter macrumors 65816

    benlee

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #3
    Yes, but I got a Fifth Generation Airport Extreme.. I don't think that allows an external for Time Machine. Could I use a directly attached external to the iMac to backup with Time Machine?
     
  4. satcomer, May 20, 2016
    Last edited: May 26, 2016

    satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #4

Share This Page