Help with AppleTV connection...

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by kman34, Nov 20, 2008.

  1. kman34 macrumors member

    kman34

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #1
    I'm getting SO frustrated with my appleTV....I was an early adaptor and loved my appleTV when I first bought it.

    For the last 3-6 months I've had a hell of a time keeping the internet connection with my appleTV.

    I have an airport that has an imac, two mac laptops, and two iphones connected without a problem.

    Without fail, every time I turn my entertainment center to appleTV I get the ol' "you are not connected to the internet"...I go through the process of finding my network (sometimes it doesn't show up), entering my password, and praying.

    If I do get online, it doesn't last long.

    My appleTV is only two rooms away from the airport...I've tried moving the appleTV everywhere in my living with the same results.

    HELP...any ideas?
    I used to love using my appleTV, now I never use it because of the frustration.
     
  2. kman34 thread starter macrumors member

    kman34

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #2
    REALLY???
    Everyone else's appleTV stays connected all the time. It's driving me nuts.
     
  3. leandroc76 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    #3
    I'm willing to bet that it's you're ISP's fault. The amount of bandwidth that is required is probably flagging you're ISP. Call your ISP and see if there is a pro package that allows unlimited bandwidth usage.
     
  4. spice weasel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    #4
    Why would that affect a home network?

    I think it's either a router issue or a problem with your ATV's wifi card. Try connecting your ATV to your router via ethernet and see if you still have problems. That will at least help you narrow down the possible causes.
     
  5. kman34 thread starter macrumors member

    kman34

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #5
    Thanks for the replies...

    It'll be tough to hook the atv to the router directly since my wireless router is in a computer closet/room with no TV available to see if atv is working.

    I cannot even rent movies since I get bounced offline in the middle of downloading.

    We have the fastest and top tier package that out cable (Comcast) company offers with regards to the internet.

    I never have problems with the wireless connection of my computers (all macs) , just the ATV....any other ideas would be appreciated.

    I don't want my ATV to just sit there.
     
  6. mchalebk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #7
    This sounds to me like a problem with the AppleTV getting a good signal from your wireless router. Did anything change that might impact the signal traveling between your router and the AppleTV (you said it worked well until the last 3-6 months, so it seems likely that something changed)? Is there anything between the router and the AppleTV that didn’t used to be there? Is there more stuff in the closet? Did you change the position or orientation of the router?

    Something must have changed.
     
  7. mchalebk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #8
    Good question. I remember reading a while back about someone putting their's on top of a DVD player and it wiped out his reception.
     
  8. Mr Kram macrumors 68000

    Mr Kram

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #9
    what is the logic behind this? i have mine on a dvd player and have experienced no problems. however, i would move it if i'm degrading my reception in any way.
     
  9. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #10
    No one knows - could be electrical emissions, could be the metal enclosure. What's certain is that may people reporting reception issues resolved them by placing the ATV on a nonconductive surface (e.g., wood).
     
  10. JW008 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #11
    I actually had mine sitting on my Time Capsule and it didn't work properly--even with the ethernet cable plugged in. Renting and downloading from iTunes was great, but streaming from my iMac in another room would stutter through even SD stuff.

    I moved it to the other side of the my TV Stand and haven't had a problem since. Odd how these things work...
     
  11. kman34 thread starter macrumors member

    kman34

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #12
    It is setting on a wood stand with a plasma tv over it (not sitting on it)

    I've moved it around with no help...my neighbor has the same problem (he uses a different internet provider and has a different router)

    So none of you are having connection problems?
     
  12. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #13
    I have mine sitting on top of a DirecTivo that is constantly on, and I have no connection problems at all. The only thing that annoys me is that it loses the library connection whenever iTunes restarts; it seems like it could automatically reconnect but it is not that smart. I have an Airport Extreme-N, but I also had no problems when I had only a Linksys WRT54G.
     
  13. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #14
    This is highly suspicious. Looks like a place to focus.
     
  14. OldGuyDave macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    #15
    I have an :apple:TV connected over a D-Link router. The aTV loses contact with my router all the time, i have to deactivate my WLAN and turn it back again to get contact. My router is *****, I have a better connection with my Mac and my aTV to my neighbours router 20 meters away than i do to my own router 1 meter away.
    My D-Link is Cr*p! :mad:
     
  15. kman34 thread starter macrumors member

    kman34

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #16
    My Atv also brings up neighbors router before mine sometimes, and they're across the street. That is why I went out and bought an apple router hoping it would correct the problem.
    It is a time capsule...I wonder if it's kicking me off when the time machine starts the backup?
    Does anyone think this could be the problem?
     
  16. OldGuyDave macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    #17
    Well I don't think it's going to be the same solution for everybody but I do think that the aTV is touchy about what Router you have, or how stable your network ist, or there are some settings that have to be tweaked and I missed them. :confused:
    I'm going to do a Firmware update and see what happens.:eek:
     
  17. OldGuyDave macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    #18
    Maybe you didn't change something, maybe your neighbour changed something. They have some interferring with your reception?
    Just a thought. :D
     
  18. kman34 thread starter macrumors member

    kman34

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #19
    Since my macs all work (wirelessly) with no problem, I'm guessing it is a setting on my Atv...any ideas on setting I might want to change????????
     
  19. Mike in Kansas macrumors 6502a

    Mike in Kansas

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Location:
    Metro Kansas City
    #20
    With his ATV or yours? If he's also having trouble with yours, it sounds like the card inside the ATV, as someone has suggested before.
     
  20. joker2 macrumors 6502a

    joker2

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Location:
    DC area
    #21
    This may be completely off the mark and time consuming as well, but have you tried to restore the aTV to factory settings and setting it up again?
     
  21. joegomolski macrumors 6502

    joegomolski

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2006
    Location:
    So CA
    #22
    Where is the Mac equipment? Is it in the same room as your router?

    With the Apple TV being in a room without any other Mac equipment?

    I had reception problems too, so I bought an Airport Express and installed it in the entertainment room. No more problems.
     
  22. kman34 thread starter macrumors member

    kman34

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #23
    I use my macbook pro in the same room as my Atv with no problem...I just cringe every time I flip over to the Atv to see that it's telling me that I'm not connected to the internet.
    After I find my network and enter my password, I'm back online....but only for a short time...boo.
     
  23. kman34 thread starter macrumors member

    kman34

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #24
    I finally figured out the problem....

    Direct TV now has "On Demand"...the way that they get the on demand programming onto your tv is through a wifi connection.

    They use a surge protector (that apparently connects to your router through your power outlets) I know it sounds weird, but that is what DTV told me.

    I have taken this wifi surge protector off of my tv and moved it to another tv in another room.

    This fixed the problem!!!

    If you love your ATV, be careful when Direct TV comes to "upgrade" you to "On Demand"
     

Share This Page