Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ricardo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 24, 2003
Hi everyone,

I would like to do a clean install of Panther on my ibook, but I need to backup my mp3's, iPhoto library, iCal, Address book and documents. I don't have a DVD burner, so my only option is to use my ipod as an external hard drive, but first I need to reformat it.

Is there anything tricky I should know about reformating the ipod, and backing up and restoring data with an ipod before I go on?

I'm pretty new to OS X (I had a mac back in the days of system 7 and have recently switched back), so please be gentle :)

ricardo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 24, 2003
Also, will the software restore cd's that came with the ibook (appleworks, etc.) work after I install panther?

Thank you!

sethypoo

macrumors 68000
Oct 8, 2003
Sacramento, CA, USA
Re: help with backup and panther clean install

Originally posted by ricardo
Hi everyone,

I would like to do a clean install of Panther on my ibook, but I need to backup my mp3's, iPhoto library, iCal, Address book and documents. I don't have a DVD burner, so my only option is to use my ipod as an external hard drive, but first I need to reformat it.

Is there anything tricky I should know about reformating the ipod, and backing up and restoring data with an ipod before I go on?

I'm pretty new to OS X (I had a mac back in the days of system 7 and have recently switched back), so please be gentle :)