Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mateolevi

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 4, 2011
I'm completely new to jailbreaking and want to jailbreak my iPhone 4. Will I be able to jailbreak it and then use my current settings, applications, contacts, and pictures on my iPhone by using the most recent sync file?

Thanks!

Mr. Chewbacca

macrumors 6502a
Apr 27, 2010
Dallas TX
I'm completely new to jailbreaking and want to jailbreak my iPhone 4. Will I be able to jailbreak it and then use my current settings, applications, contacts, and pictures on my iPhone by using the most recent sync file?

Thanks!

First thing you should do is back up your phone in itunes then go to iclarified.com and follow the steps exactly.

everything will work as before but with more options ;)

mateolevi

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 4, 2011
Thanks for the quick response.

I read through the steps earlier and just wanted to make sure that I would be able to sync it back up. Is that what the "custom ipsw" is?

Mr. Chewbacca

macrumors 6502a
Apr 27, 2010
Dallas TX

I read through the steps earlier and just wanted to make sure that I would be able to sync it back up. Is that what the "custom ipsw" is?

Not exactly, but after you finish the set up you will not have any hoops to jump through when syncing from then on. Most all of my stuff comes from iTunes so that was important to me to.

I'm not 100% sure why they want you to download the iOS and not just update in itunes but the safe bet is to follow the steps as close as possable.

It tells you to unzip the redsn0w file but mine didnt need to be so the file was slightly different. Also be sure to hit option when you restore so you can shose the file to restore from. I almost missed that :eek:

eastercat

macrumors 68040
Mar 3, 2008
PDX
stock ipsw-what you d/l from apple
custom-what you make with pwnage or its equivalent

kavika411

macrumors 6502a
Jan 8, 2006