Help With Buying Advice

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Bioguy35, Jul 19, 2011.

1. Bioguy35 macrumors newbie

Hello everyone. I'm new to mac and need some buying advice. My wife and I are both teachers and are looking for a computer/laptop.

We currently have an HP G62 laptop (AMD Phenom triple core processor, 4GB RAM and 500 GB HD) running Windows 7, which was new at the beginning of the last school year. As well we have an older PC desktop with flatscreen monitor, wireless hp printer, keyboard, mouse; a 500GB external HD, and an older Acer laptop (AMD Sempron 3000+, 2GB RAM and 80GB HD) with hp printer, both running Windows XP.

I do most of my work at school and am currently carrying the HP laptop back and forth. I also occasionally use the desktop when I need more screen real estate (e.g., putting windows side by side to research/write lesson plans). My wife does all of her computer work at home and is currently using the Acer laptop. She rarely carries her laptop to school. Both schools are windows based with Open Office as the suite of choice, and occasionally use Mircosoft Word.

We have a fairly tight budget ($1500-2000 max), and are open to buying a new or refurbished laptop/desktop or some combination of the two. We are also aware of the education discount.

I'm wondering if i could get away with an Ipad2 in a case with a bluetooth keyboard to carry back and forth, with a Mac mini at home using our existing peripherals, an have my wife use the hp laptop.

I would be using our purchase for lesson plan research(internet) and writing (word processing), picture editing, email, light gaming, and occasional video editing. Since we are keeping the HP laptop, I think it would be best if we could dual boot windows 7 and lion.

Does my Ipad/Mini idea hold water, or does anyone have a better suggestion?

2. Tomorrow macrumors 604

Tomorrow