Help with Canon EOS300D

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Naim135, Sep 4, 2008.

  1. Naim135 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    St Helens UK
    #1
    Hi folks I have borrowed the above Camera and I am wondering if anyone knows why if you shhot in Full Auto Mode you cant specify RAW as a file type.

    I think the same is true for TIFF on my Old Leica Digilux 1 (This camera is pre RAW formats):confused:
     
  2. Bokser Guest

    #2
    You can select RAW or RAW+JPEG format from the menu only for Creative Zone modes (P, Av, Tv...etc.)

    In Full Auto (Green mode) the camera takes ONLY JPEGs.

    Hope it helps!
     
  3. Naim135 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Location:
    St Helens UK
    #3
    Just wondering why it is JPEG only in full auto
     
  4. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #4
    You can also select RAW if you're in Program ("P") mode (I shoot Nikon, but I've used the 300D at work a few times).

    I usually prefer Program mode to full Auto anyway.

    Edit: I missed that Bokser had mentioned "P" mode already - but Program Mode isn't a "Creative Zone" mode.
     
  5. jampat macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    #5
    I don't know if there is a real reason, or if it's just Canon punishing people for shelling out so much money for a camera and not attempting to learn how to use it. They may have figured that if you didn't know how to use the "creative" modes properly, the RAW files would cause you problems too (which is quite possible). When I first got my camera, I just shot most things in P mode until I got used to it so I could have raw and then moved on to the other modes. Most kit lenses won't give you a really short DOF, so for many situations, P mode will keep people in focus. For landscapes it's obviously not the best choice. Meh, it's digital, just flip it to one of the creative modes and play with it. Shots are almost free. Have fun.
     
  6. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #6
    I think this is a feature the Canon added to protect beginners from themselves. The idea is that someone who knows nothing about cameras can simply put the camera on "A" and nothing bad would happen. To many people raw format would mean images they could never use - bad thing.

    This might also have been done to save Canon some tech support costs. It prevents hundreds of people from calling up asking "What are these odd files and what do I do with them?"
     

Share This Page