Help with choosing a macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by OmiKnight52, Aug 5, 2009.

  1. OmiKnight52 macrumors member

    OmiKnight52

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #1
    Hey guys I have a little Dilemma choosing from two Macbook options. It'll be my first macbook and its for basic work and learniing Mac os X. The First option is $75 cheaper and has intel gma 950 64mb of intergrated ram. The second has Intel x3100 144mb of integrated so both x3100 and 950 are not dedicated so probaly wont make any diffrence, plus option 1 has superdrive

    Option 1: APPLE MACBOOK 13" C2D 2.16 GHZ 1GB/120GB/SUPERDRIVE!! intel gma 950 64mb A t7400 2007 model

    Option 2: APPLE MACBOOK 13" C2D 2.1GHZ 2GB/120GB/X.5 Intel GMA X3100
    A faster t8100 C2D 2008 Model
     
  2. GfulDedFan macrumors 65816

    GfulDedFan

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    Indiana
    #2
    Option 2 - Pros: Newer and faster for not too much more money. Parts are younger and theoretically less worn. Cons: No SuperDrive if you need one.

    Option 3 - Wait for the Tablet with more prayer

    -GDF
     
  3. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #3
    I would go for the 2nd option. A, it has a better graphics card (much better than the crappy old GMA950), B, it has an extra GB of RAM, C, it is a newer model so no doubt has a higher resale value.

    However if you need the Superdrive then you may as well go for that.

    But I'd pick the Intel X1300 over the GMA950 anyday.
     
  4. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #4
    I'd wait and find one that really suits your needs instead of compromising.

    Not having a DVD-capable SuperDrive is absolutely unacceptable in my opinion, but then again, so are GMA 950 based graphics.
     
  5. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #5
    GMA950 is not much worse than X3100. I have 950 and its enough to play GTA San Andreas, COD2 multiplayer and CSS smoothly. When not gaming I see no difference between my GMA950 and Radeon 2400 XT (in the iMac) in general system performance.
     
  6. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #6
    One other thing to consider, I think somebody on here was saying the most recent build of Snow Leopard included some form of Open CL support for the x3100...
     
  7. OmiKnight52 thread starter macrumors member

    OmiKnight52

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #7
    Maybe, but I checked apple's Snow Leopard page and it only shows amd and nvidia support.
     
  8. Kyeris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Somewhere in Texas
    #8
    Only for OpenCL that I'm aware of. Only true requirement is an intel processor.
     
  9. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #9
    He was talking about my previous post I think. I remember somebody on here mentioned a bit about x3100 support in the newest SL build, but I don't remember if it was related to openCL or just improved drivers.
     
  10. Kyeris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Somewhere in Texas
    #10
    Ahh. Yeah, I've seen a few things regarding the X3100 and improved performance but nothing opencl related.
     
  11. OmiKnight52 thread starter macrumors member

    OmiKnight52

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #11
    Ill buy the T8100 2.1ghz Macbook since I don't burn dvds and I have a pc for gaming and upgrade it to 4gb ram and snow leopard.

    update: Seems Ill have to get option 1 as 2 is all out.
     
  12. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #12
    Good choice, I hoped we were of help to point you in the right direction :)
     
  13. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #13
    With those as my only choices that's what I would have choose as well. In the future if you need the DVD capacity, you can always buy a used SuperDrive online and install it in the place of the ComboDrive.
     
  14. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #14
    Or buy an external DVD writer? :)
     
  15. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #15
    That would work too I guess, but I usually use my MB on the couch or a table so having external drives hooked up can be a PITA
     
  16. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #16
    Only as much as an external hard drive with which you want to do hourly backups, or a printer, etc etc. It would be fine if you only use it occasionally :)
     
  17. OmiKnight52 thread starter macrumors member

    OmiKnight52

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #17
    How good at basic editing like video conversion and music on ur White macbook and is it max 2gb or 4gb? because wiki has it at 4gb while other sites show 2gb
     
  18. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #18
    These tasks are entirely CPU-dependant, so they run just the same if you have Radeon 4870 or no graphics card at all. And Core 2 Duo in my MB does that just fine :)

    Max RAM in my MB is 3.3 GB, only starting with SantaRosa Max has been upped to 4 GB.
     
  19. OmiKnight52 thread starter macrumors member

    OmiKnight52

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #19
    Hey do u run bootcamp, and if so how much space would be good for windows?
     
  20. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #20
    IMO, no less than 20-30GB. Depends really on what you'll need to do in the Windows environment.
     
  21. OmiKnight52 thread starter macrumors member

    OmiKnight52

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #21
    Its just for A game I play called guildewars-2gb-and basically for windows only stuff so maybe 15gb for partion. seems Ill be getting option 1 monday since 2 is out but Itll have 3gb instead of 1 and later on a 320gb 7200rpm
     
  22. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #22
    Will that game run well on a GMA 950 graphics chipset?
     
  23. OmiKnight52 thread starter macrumors member

    OmiKnight52

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    #23
    Yeah I checked intels website and its listed as one of the games. So I bought
    option 1 with 3gb, I should get by friday.
     

Share This Page