Help with CoD 4 for mac

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Drummerman558, Apr 20, 2009.

  1. Drummerman558 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    #1
    hi, i know there have been alot of threads about Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare already but i am expirencing a problem that is not typical.

    I have the game for mac and i have a macbook. It plays ok when i have all the graphics to the lowest they go (although im not sure what auto-alasing or whatever means). However, whenever i look down my sights to aim, everything goes fuzzy, and i can only see vauge figures of people and landscape. everything in the game is still in the same position, just it is out of focus. I suppose this is because of a graphics problem, but i do not know what.

    Can anybody tell me why this happens and how to fix it?
    Thanks
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    My experience with the game (with an iMac and a MBP) is, that this is a feature, like if you really would use a rifle, and focus your eyes on the aim, the rest gets blurred.

    Hold your arms like you would have a rifle in the hand, and then try to aim and focus. You'll see, that the surroundings get blurred.

    As you have lower graphic settings, the view might get frelled up a bit.
     
  3. Drummerman558 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    #3
    no, its not just the outside that gets blurred, the place where i am aiming also gets blurred. I know that this is not supposed to happen, because my friends have it and i have asked them before and this does not happen to them. i also watched videos online of the gameplay, and when people use their sights it does not get blurred.
     
  4. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #4
    Screenshot would probably help.

    Contact the game's support?
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    Sorry, I misunderstood then.

    I once accidentally played almost full settings with the 9400m, and what you describe, didn't happen.

    have you tried different anti-alias settings?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anti-aliasing
     
  6. Drummerman558 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    #6
    Yea ill try messing around with that i guess. Im not sure what my graphics card is. How do i figure that out if i dont remember it?
     
  7. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #7
    If you have the new Unibody MacBook, you have the Nvidia 9400M, if you have the older White MB, you have either the GMA950 or GMA 3100 or so (from 11/2007 onwards).

    Also you can look into the System Profiler (Spotlight or :apple: > About This Mac > More Info...).

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Drummerman558 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    #8
    ok thanks thats really helpful. I have the older macbook. unfortunately i will not be able to axcess my macbook untill thursday.. so we will see how things work out then. im not even sure if my computer meets the system requirments, i dont know about all that computer stuff really. But the worker at the mac store said that the game should work for my computer if i set it to the low graphic settings, and this thing is happining. so, ill play around with it a little more.

    Thanks for your help
     
  9. Drummerman558 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    #9
    hello again, umm.. yea, i tried changing the auto-aliasing settings and the blurred vision still happened. I have pretty much tried changing every graphic option and this weird problem still happens.

    Anyone else any ideas?
     
  10. Illicit macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Location:
    Waterloo, ON
    #10
    I suggest running it in BootCamp instead. see if that helps.
     
  11. Drummerman558 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    #11
    ok, is it possible to run a mac game on boot camp? i know its used for windows games, and i have a mac dvd version of the game, so is this possible?
     
  12. Rodus macrumors 6502a

    Rodus

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    #12
    If you have the older MacBook then you've probably got either the Intel Gma 950 or 3100, as antialiasing will give you a performance hit on new cards you really don't want to enable it with the Intel integrated chipsets as they are piss poor performers. Also, if you have on of these chipsets then the guy at the Mac store was wrong.
    From Aspyrs site
    You cannot run a Mac game in Bootcamp, you need the PC version and your GPU is still going to be the weak link.
     
  13. Drummerman558 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    #13
    ok thanks, that clears things up a bit. I guess i can't really do anything but buy a new computer, but thats not going to happen anytime soon. Thanks for your help ;)
     
  14. lllolRUS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    #14
    I know how to fix it. You must have my settings becouse i have intel gma x3100 too.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page