Help with connecting to linksys router

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Cheatmaster8, Mar 14, 2010.

  1. Cheatmaster8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    #1
    Hi, I have a linksys wireless router, and Im having trouble connecting to it. Everything was fine until about two weeks ago, where all my utilies (ipod touch, macbook pro, xbox live adapter) stopped connecting. All of them recognize that my router is sending signals, however I can't connect to it for some reason. I don't have any security password up, so it isn't a password thing. Another note, is when using my xbox live adapter it says it can't obtain the ip address for some reason. I live by a lot of wireless adapters from all these restraurants near by, I don't know if they could be causing any issues with this. Please help!
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Reboot it. Renew the DHCP lease. Reboot the modem.
     
  3. Cheatmaster8 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    #3
    What do you mean by renew the DCP lease? Sorry, a little un-computer friendly.
     
  4. Cheatmaster8 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    #4
    Hey, one more thing, the computer I have right now is connected, but everything else like I said won't connect.
     
  5. JediMeister macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #5
    Turn off everything on the network including your modem and router and all the client devices. If your cable modem has a coaxial line, or your DSL modem has VOIP or a phone line into it, disconnect that as well. Wait 30 seconds to 1 minute then turn on the modem, the router, then the clients, in that specific order. At that point everything SHOULD begin to work.
     

Share This Page