Help with creating a user account

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Garryg, Jun 2, 2011.

1. Garryg, Jun 2, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2011

Garryg macrumors newbie

I’ve just acquired a second-hand iMac 1. It is booting up to the desktop but the user account it is logged in with has a password, and I don’t know this, or the supervisor password.

Is there any way I can create a user account for myself, or change the password for the logged in account without knowing it… I’m assuming not.

Is my only option to re-install the operating system?
    This could be a slight problem as I don’t have the disks.

I can probably get some system disks, but as you probably guessed I’m pretty new to new Macs (I still have my classic though) so do I need some sort of install key to re-install the operating system?

I’m not trying to do anything illegal here. The current op is valid, and I would just be re-loading the same version, so I can get a clean install.

2. reclusive46 macrumors 65816

reclusive46

The only way you can do it is with the discs for that iMac.

3. Garryg thread starter macrumors newbie

Ah, well that could be a problem. It’s an ex-college machine so I probably won’t be able to get the exact disks it was originally installed from.

So how does installing a Mac OS work? Do the install disks each have a unique serial number or something?

Does this mean I would have to purchase a new version of Mac OS to reinstall!?

I suppose that as long as I don’t log out I can continue using the desktop that is currently up.

Do you need to know the user passwords to install new apps, as it asked me for the password when it tried to do a systems update.

4. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

Mitthrawnuruodo

...or a retail Mac OS X install disk.