Help with Diablo 3 with my macbook pro!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sneak3, Jun 5, 2012.

  1. sneak3 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    #1
    Hello there!

    I got a 2008 unibody macbook pro, the 5,5 version one.

    core 2 duo 2,2ghz processor, 160 hd, 2gb ram, nvidia 9400m 256 mb ram.

    Ive been trying hard to play diablo with this machine so I started to look for how come my mbp couldn't properly run diablo 3.

    The primary symptom is constant lag in open scenery areas, it all slows down.

    As I was finding some info, I discovered that this GPU used the mbp RAM. 2 GB is already too little, so if the GPU shares ram, the little would turn out to be useless.

    SO I upgraded my ram to 8gb, BUT still, i can't see much of an improvement.

    Am I missing something?

    Please help!
     
  2. cookiesnfooty macrumors 6502

    cookiesnfooty

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Location:
    Harrogate
    #2
    You could try lowering the graphic settings or even using bootcamp if you're able to use windows.
     
  3. definitive, Jun 5, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2012

    definitive macrumors 68000

    definitive

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #3
    yes, you are missing something. you didn't visit http://www.diablo3.com 's official mac support forum to find out that everyone with this underpowered card is having the same exact issue, and that blizzard is supposedly working on a fix. don't expect to see much of a gain.

    edit: look for an update some time tomorrow which is supposed to address this issue.
     
  4. Stetrain macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    #4
    That's because you have the version with the 9400m, which is an integrated card that's lower performance than even the modern Intel integrated graphics.

    I wouldn't expect to be able to run much in the way of modern 3D games, at least not at anything but low or medium settings.
     
  5. AlexMaximus macrumors 6502a

    AlexMaximus

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    A400M Base
    #5
    ...

    SO I upgraded my ram to 8gb, BUT still, i can't see much of an improvement.

    Am I missing something?

    ]

    Use this patch and you will be able to play it:

    us.battle.net/d3/en/blog/6214188
     
  6. Wafflausages macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #6
    Ram won't do much for performance but
    Go into Finder, "Go", press Alt and "Library" should appear. Click that and go to Application Support>Blizzard>Diablo. You should see D3PREFS.txt look for "Hardwareclass" and change it to "1". Greatly improves performance I got about +20-30 fps on my 6750m
     

Share This Page