Help with DirectX Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by parmacrafter, Sep 14, 2012.

  1. parmacrafter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    #1
    Early 2011 Macbook Pro 4GB Ram 15"
    Mountain Lion OS X 10.8.1
    Windows 7 Home Premium

    I have bootcamp going and have installed windows 7. Most things are running on the windows 7 just fine. My issue is with games from places like BigFish and PopCap. They all give me errors saying there is no 3d device. I seemed to remember that most all of those games required DirectX to run in windows. If that is the case here on the Mac as well can anyone tell me how to get DirectX installed and what version I would need to get?
     
  2. deadwulfe macrumors 6502a

    deadwulfe

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    #2
    Have you installed the Bootcamp drivers in Windows? Have you tried updating the drivers for your graphics card in Windows?

    I doubt it's a DirectX issue, since Windows comes with it installed. However, Directx can be found on Microsoft's website: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=35

    Do you know which version of Windows 7 you're running? Is it the 64-bit version or the 32-bit? Your graphics drivers can be updated with one of the following, but you may or may not need existing drivers already installed (I don't know if these work from no drivers installed):

    For 64-bit:
    http://www2.ati.com/drivers/12-6_vista_win7_64_dd_ccc.exe

    For 32-bit:
    http://www2.ati.com/drivers/12-6_vista_win7_32_dd_ccc.exe

    ATI's Catalyst 12.8 is the latest, but these links only go up to 12.6. I'm not an IT professional, but that's where I'd start.
     
  3. parmacrafter thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    #3
    Thanks. I'll give it a shot. I think my issue is that windows is trying to run off the crappy Intel graphics adapter which isn't compatible with directX. I need it to run off the AMD Radeon graphics adapter.
     
  4. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #4
    no.. your Intel will not even run at all in Windows, and is completely compatible with directx if it could... your stuck on AMD only. But if its using the default drivers, they support basically nothing, you need the proper drivers installed so Windows knows how to use it correctly.
     
  5. parmacrafter thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    #5
    Thanks so much for the help. I was trying desperately to help a friend with her first Mac. Turns out she had installed a lame emulator instead of doing bootcamp. Once I got that sorted and got her to install bootcamp and windows everything worked perfectly. Gotta love the mac.
     

Share This Page