Help with downgrading

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by scholls22, Jul 1, 2015.

  1. scholls22 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    #1
    I am trying to downgrade from IOS 9 beta 2 to IOS 8.4. I have 8.4 on the phone now but it won't restore to the backup that I wish for it to revert to. I get an error message saying that the software is too old. This is the message that I get. Please help!

    To restore this iPhone from this backup, you must first set up the iPhone as new and restore the software to the latest version
     
  2. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #2
    I don't know what kind of backup do you have at this point. I assume you have an icloud backup, which has Been polluted by the iOS 9 beta 2. In this case, you will have nothing could be restored before this fall.

    If you have an old backup prior to iOS 9 upgrade, you may use that backup to restore. Of course, that backup should be created through iTunes.

    If your sole purpose of downgrading to iOS 8.4 is to use apple music, if I were you, I would wait for the next beta version of iOS 9, which will come out next week with apple music support.
     
  3. scholls22 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    #3
    That was not the sole reason for downgrading but it was a factor. If I go to iTunes/ Preferences/ Devices/ I can find the backup from last night that I want. It shows up in finder, however, I have no clue how to select that particular file.

    So if I put 9.0 back on do you think I could pick a newer back up?
     
  4. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #4
    Maybe what you need to select is a folder not a file. I am not sure.

    If you put iOS 9 beta back on, your icloud backup May be usable, maybe. And you can restore from newer backup.

    The destruction of data is the Only reason I refuse to downgrade, even iOS 8.4 has been just released.
     
  5. bkends35 macrumors 6502a

    bkends35

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    You can edit the iOS version number in the info.plist within the backup. I've done it a few times and it worked fine.
     
  6. scholls22 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    #6
    Can you explain how to do this?

    Thanks!
     
  7. bkends35 macrumors 6502a

    bkends35

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #7
  8. johno168 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    #8

Share This Page