Help with File Sharing and Servers

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by KettyKrueger, Jan 21, 2009.

1. KettyKrueger macrumors 6502

KettyKrueger

Hi All

Am I right in thinking that if I want to share files between two computers on the same network, I would need a NAS/Server? I'm potentially going to need to share files between a Mac and a PC and maybe stream to an Apple TV. Would a NAS be suitable, or would a network harddrive do the trick?

Also, if I was to buy a NAS to store all my data on, would I be able to access those files as if they were stored on the computer's own hard drive, i.e. would there be any lag? Basically, all that would be on the computers own HDD's would be the operating system and any applications. All documents, music, photos, videos, etc would be held on the server.

Please forgive my ignorance, I'm totally new to this...would the NAS need to be connected to a host machine??

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

edesignuk

A network hard drive is a NAS. A full on multi-disk RAID NAS or a single disk NAS both do the same job, they provide storage on your network. Hence Network Attached Storage.

There will of course be lag in accessing any data over a network connection rather than from a local disk.

A NAS wouldn't have a "host machine". It's just a storage device that sits somewhere on your network. Most are administered through a web interface available to any computer on the same network.

3. KettyKrueger thread starter macrumors 6502

KettyKrueger

Thanks for that.

So, if I was to keep my current set-up (iMac with HDDs attached), will I be able to access the data on those HDD's from a Macbook? From what you're saying, I'm guessing no.

4. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

edesignuk

Yes you will. You just need to share the drives attached to the iMac out so that others can connect to them. System Prefs > Sharing.

5. KettyKrueger thread starter macrumors 6502

KettyKrueger

Oh, thanks!