Help with G5 PowerMac Please

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by DanElusive, Aug 29, 2013.

  1. DanElusive macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    #1
    I have just purchased a G5 powermac 2 x 2.3Ghz which currently has a GeForce 6600 graphics card installed with 2 dvi ports. My question is, can I purchase an identical card and install it in the pci slot above the current one, in order to have 4 dvi ports for monitors? I assume there is drivers to install or at least steps to take before I will get 4 useable dvi ports.

    Any help anyone can offer will be greatly appreciated!

    Thank you,

    Dan.
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    It should just automatically detect the new card and give you four displays.
     
  3. DanElusive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    #3
    Oh that's great, thanks :)
     
  4. DZ/015 macrumors 6502a

    DZ/015

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    I believe you would need a pci graphics card. I am pretty sure a pcie card will not work in a pci or pci-x slot.
     
  5. Nameci macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #5
    I also believe that what he had is a late 2005 PM G5 2.3DC due to him mentioning that the graphics card is a GF6600. The GF6600 is a PCIe card.
     
  6. DanElusive thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    #6
    You are correct sir :)
     
  7. DZ/015 macrumors 6502a

    DZ/015

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    And I am incorrect! Ignore me. Teaches me to post so late in my day.

    Apologies for the bad advice.
     

Share This Page