Help with Genius Bar/repair related question

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by daonesteven, Dec 15, 2013.

1. daonesteven, Dec 15, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2013

daonesteven macrumors 6502

So I have a 2011 MBA that I never got AppleCare for so it has not been under warranty for some time now. After having owned it for just over 2 years, I wanted to open it up so I could blow out dust that has accumulated ever since. Bought one of those pentalobe screwdrivers from iFixit and proceeded to open the bottom cover for the first time.

What I discovered inside was something of concern: First, the screw on the RIGHT circled in red in this image (http://d3nevzfk7ii3be.cloudfront.net/igi/pBAijKIeiULMsQoN) was hopelessly stripped upon discovery. I tried to use my screwdriver to turn it but after realizing pretty much instantly that it wouldn't hold, I stopped trying to strip it even further than it was already stripped. Second, a corner of the "black plastic chassis" that is held down by the screws circled in the image, was broken off and basically just hanging there.