Help with hiding windows

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ejenks909, Dec 10, 2008.

  1. ejenks909 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #1
    Hey everyone, I've been to this site a couple of times for info but have never actually posted before. I need help with my open windows. Every time I click an icon in the dock, they other ones turn slightly darker and their corresponding windows vanish. This is getting very irritating. I have uploaded a screen shot so you know what I'm talking about. Thanks in advance for any advice.:D
     

    Attached Files:

  2. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #2
    Ok what you are describing is indicative of having a small utility program on your Mac along the lines of HideAlways, Shoo Apps, or another one I can't remember right now :)o) which do two things:

    -they make the inactive app's icons translucent (which against your dark desktop makes them appear to darken)
    and
    -they hide the windows of inactive apps

    Take a look at your "Login Items" tab in your System Preferences Accounts pane to see if either of those programs are installed and loading at startup first.

    The icon "dimming" as they call it in some utilities can also be instituted or disabled in some general utilities packages (MacPilot and Onyx for example). Mac Pilot also has a setting to enable/disable what they call "Single Application mode" that hides all background windows.

    Your problem is indicative of why I love Macs- the behavior is driving you crazy, but I would not live without it! Having dimmed background windows all over the place from inactive apps just does not cut it for me, but I can modify that behavior very simply! Maybe Spaces could take care of my needs, but Shoo Apps does fine for me!;)

    So anyway, start off with the info above and maybe that will get you back to the stock way that the Mac handles inactive apps anyway! Good luck!
     
  3. bigjnyc macrumors 601

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #3
    for a minute i thought you were running around with wives of deceased men.:D
     
  4. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #4
    I thought the same thing when I read the thread title. I was about to say that this needed to be moved into the Politics, Religion, Social Issues section.
     
  5. ejenks909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #5
    an unfortunate misspelling, haha. Anyway, I tried looking in login items, and the only ones there were iTunes Helper and GowlHelper. Nothing about hiding windows.
     
  6. madog macrumors 65816

    madog

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Location:
    Korova Milkbar
    #6
    AutoHide
    ShooApps
    iKey
    SpiritedAway
    DragThing
    Fantasktik

    ... are some of the apps that have an "auto hide" auto hide feature which hides any background apps, similar to holding down the option key while opening a new app from the dock. Don't believe Leopard has a feature like this built in to always perform it by default, so there must be an app that is activating it.

    If you have any apps that affect your dock or modify it in any way (for customization, whatever) then I would check that also.
     
  7. ejenks909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #7
    The only application that I see could trigger this is Expose. All of my other applications are either adobe programs, realmac software programs (wo0t LittleSnapper!) or just the basic programs that come out of the box. I also tried restarting my computer to see if that would do anything, but it had no effect.
     
  8. ejenks909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #8
    Okay, I think the problem is I hit hide others (cmd+ctrl+h). Does anybody know how to set it back to default, ie show others always selected?:confused:
     
  9. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    That's not what's going on because when you press that combo it just hides the windows that one time, it shouldn't keep happening.

    Go into the activity monitor, check all processes, write down all the processes you don't recognize and I'll tell you which one is messing with your windows.
     
  10. ejenks909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #10
    • Airport Base Station Agent
    • AppleSpell
    • ATSServer
    • launchd
    • loginwindow
    • mdworker
    • pboard
    • SystemUIServer
    • UserEvent Agent
    Thanks in advance ;)
     
  11. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    weird. It's not any of those... Maybe you've tripped into a weird buggy setting.
     

Share This Page