Help with Home Office Setup

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Titus, Dec 16, 2009.

  1. Titus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    #1
    Just bought a new iMac quad and I love it. I also received a replacement computer from Dell that is pretty high end. I use an HP 17 inch laptop as well. Set up Airport Extreme and everything seems to be working. Is there a way to use my iMac as a monitor for the Dell computer?

    I really love this monitor so much I hate to hook the Dell up to my Dell 24 inch monitor and would rather give up that monitor and gain desk space. The only other option is to use a Samsung 40 inch LED TV as my Dell's monitor.

    I use the iMac for video, pictures and music. I have Windows 7 running via Parallels but would rather just use the new Dell as a Windows computer and the iMac for personal use.

    This is my first experience with Apple and I really love it.
     
  2. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #2
    If the iMac is not 27", then no.
     
  3. Velin macrumors 65816

    Velin

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Hearst Castle
    #3
  4. Titus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
  5. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #5
    Well then you're in luck. See that little Mini DisplayPort there? Get an adapter for whatever your Dell is using, plug that bad boy in, and do this little thing*, and BAM.

    *this little thing is something you find in the manual - I have no idea how to switch the display over to the input, because I don't, and never had, owned a 27"er. You lucky bastard.
     
  6. Titus thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

Share This Page