help with iphone 3gs and turkey?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ezelife, Nov 16, 2010.

  1. ezelife macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    #1
    i have just bought a friend a 3gs and she lives in turkey i mistakenly thought she could use whatapps messenger without cost but have since found out if she has uk sim card she will get charged for data services can she put turkish sim card and would she be able to txt free???? and what if anything do i have to do to the phone ie unlocking????


    thanks
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    A UK simcard in Turkey or any other country will get charged extra for calls, texts and data outside of the country it was purchased.
    You will need to unlock the iphone if its carrier locked to use any sim you want.
     
  3. ezelife thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    #3
    thanks for reply can you tell me how i go about unlonking please
     
  4. Applejuiced, Nov 16, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2010

    Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #4
    You can unlock it only if it hasnt been updated to the latest 4.1 firmware.
    If its on 4.1 you gotta wait for a newer unlock for that version.
     
  5. ezelife thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    #5
    i have 4.0.2 is that ok and i was going to use limerain is that ok

    i also have iphone 4 with 4.02 is that poss to use limerain aswell
     
  6. ngenerator macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #6
    Lol, I love your thread title! No, I can't help you with your 3gs or your turkey
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Lol :D
    I thought it had something to do with Thanksgiving too:D

    Yes, you can limerain on both and then install ultrasnow from cydia to unlock.
    Good luck.
     
  8. ezelife thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    #8
    thanks done it on iphone 4 is there anything i should do now like connect to itunes?
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Nothing else that needs to be done.
    Just make sure when itunes asks you if you want to update to the latest 4.1 firmware you click no.
    If you update to official 4.1 or the 4.2 that will come out soon you will lose your unlock.
     

Share This Page