iPhone help with Jailbreak...

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by nickcooling, Apr 26, 2013.

  1. nickcooling macrumors newbie

    nickcooling

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Location:
    Doha, Qatar.
    #1
    Hi all,

    I have an iPhone 3gs that was jailbroken, I leant it to my 8yr old and she promptly changed the 4 digit pass number then forgot it !!!

    My question is can I re-jailbreak it if I can't get access to it..

    Cheers

    NickC
     
  2. BumpyFlatline macrumors 68030

    BumpyFlatline

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    #2
    I'm pretty sure you can bypass the pin lock if you connect the device to the iTunes it syncs with. I'm sure its straightforward but you could google exactly how to do it.
     
  3. clockworkorange macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #3
    Unfortunately it's not the case anymore, Apple now requires the device to be unlocked before sync.

    You can put the phone in recovery mode and restore to 6.1.3 (I assume you have iOS 6.x blobs, and know how to use them).
     
  4. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #4
    You don't need blobs to restore to to 6.1.3
     
  5. bandofbrothers macrumors 601

    bandofbrothers

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Location:
    Uk
    #5
    Your 8 year old would have had to input the same code twice to confirm it so I'm struggling to fathom why this older child cannot remember the new code.

    The passcode is their for a very good reason.
     
  6. nickcooling thread starter macrumors newbie

    nickcooling

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Location:
    Doha, Qatar.
    #6
    Hi,

    Bandofbrothers, yes she did input it twice and then walked away not telling anyone then when she came to use it again she'd forgotten the password.

    My question still is how do I fix this? Restore it through iTunes, will this brick it? if that is successful I'll rejailbreak, if not what are my options?

    Cheers

    NickC
     
  7. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #7
    You can put the device into DFU mode and restore to iOS 6.1.3. However, if you have an untethered jailbreak right now, this will be tethered jailbreak unless you have the old bootrom 3GS

    The problem with this is that you might lose a lot of stuff you once had on the phone (texts, game app data, etc)
     
  8. nickcooling thread starter macrumors newbie

    nickcooling

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Location:
    Doha, Qatar.
    #8
    I'm not worried about losing whats on it I just want to jailbrake it again, as it was locked to Orange originally and I had a local "unlock" shop do it for me.
    So this is my 1st attempt at doing this.

    All suggestions appreciated..

    NickC
     
  9. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #9
    use sn0wbreeze and make a no baseband upgrade ipsw for 6.1.3. follow the instructions to enter pwned dfu mode and shift + click restore and select that custom firmware

    if it was software unlocked, it used ultrasn0w. make sure your current baseband is compatible with ultrasn0w. if you have the 6.15.00 baseband, it would be best to downgrade from that

    download link for 6.1.3 for iphone 3gs: http://appldnld.apple.com/iOS6.1/091-2371.20130319.715gt/iPhone2,1_6.1.3_10B329_Restore.ipsw
     
  10. nickcooling thread starter macrumors newbie

    nickcooling

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Location:
    Doha, Qatar.
    #10
    How come a lot of people say this is easy !!!!

    How do I find out my current BB?

    I now have this using redsn0w
     

    Attached Files:

  11. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #11
    It's all relative. What I find easy could be hard for you. You can try using tinyumbrella to see what your current baseband is if you can't access it through the settings app
     
  12. nickcooling thread starter macrumors newbie

    nickcooling

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Location:
    Doha, Qatar.
    #12
    Ok I now have my baseband showing as 06.15.00-6.4_M3S2, using TinyUmbrella.

    I've downloaded sn0wbreeze, it's an .exe file I'm using a Mac??

    I presume the link is for the lower BB??

    Cheers
    NickC
     

    Attached Files:

  13. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #13
    sn0wbreeze is windows only. You have the iPad baseband, use redsn0w to downgrade the iPad baseband and ultrasn0w should be compatible with that version.

    Running redsn0w and clicking jailbreak, you'll see the option to check the downgrade iPad baseband check box. If it's already jailbroken, uncheck everything else

    If you require hacktivation, you'll need to make the custom ipsw with sn0wbreeze as that's the only program I'm aware of that will make an ipsw with hacktivation
     
  14. nickcooling thread starter macrumors newbie

    nickcooling

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Location:
    Doha, Qatar.
    #14
    "If you require hacktivation, you'll need to make the custom ipsw with sn0wbreeze as that's the only program I'm aware of that will make an ipsw with hacktivation"

    so I need a PC now??

    I don't want to be defeated by this but FFS why is it so difficult, so I was wrong to believe that to JB all you had to do was download the software and press go!!
    I now have to be able to access a PC create a "custom ispw", how do you do that? take it from a PC and load it on my mac then hope it'll work when I attempt to JB it with redsn0w.

    :(
     
  15. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #15
    blame apple/carriers for making the process harder

    you are in need of a software unlock which implies that you don't have the carrier SIM the device is locked to. In that case, you would need a custom firmware that would hacktivate the phone. But before you do that, you should downgrade the baseband of the 3GS using redsn0w.

    Technically, all you need to do is jailbreak and install the software; however, you cannot jailbreak if the device is not activated

    yes, you need a windows pc to make the custom firmware. after that, you can use any OS to restore
     
  16. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #16
    First downgrade to 05.13.04 BB than

    You can also use redsn0w to restore to 6.1.3

    You need 6.0 IPSW and 6.1.3 IPSW and blobs for 6.1.3

    Go to Extras/select IPSW and select the 6.0 IPSW

    No go to Extras/even more/restore

    Select the 6.1.3 IPSW follow instructions
    use remote or local SHSH's
    when asked say YES to preserve BB
     
  17. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #17
    I can't tell if he/she also needs hacktivation or not
     
  18. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #18
  19. nickcooling thread starter macrumors newbie

    nickcooling

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Location:
    Doha, Qatar.
    #19
    Guys I really appreciate all the comments and shall be on the case later, I'll keep you updated.

    Cheers

    P.S.
    Last time I looked ... defo a guy !!!:cool:

    ----------

    Forgot to add where do I get the "blobs" from?
     
  20. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #20
    either use TinyUmbrella, redsn0w or for Cydia for 6.1.3 blobs
     

Share This Page