Help with LaCie eSata Thunderbolt Hub

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Chevner, May 1, 2012.

  1. Chevner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #1
    Hi Everyone,

    Brand new here. I'm hoping someone can help...

    I have a couple of Icy Dock 4-bay drive enclosures. At the moment one is set up with a JBOD configuration, and the other is set up as two mirrored RAID sets, each 3TB.

    The Icy Dock enclosures support both USB and eSATA. When LaCie came out with their eSata/Thunderbolt hub I thought, "Awesome. I'll get one of those babies and connect the drives that way. It will be faster than USB, etc."

    So last Friday my LaCie eSata Thunderbolt hub was delivered and I proceeded to hook the two Icy Docks up via eSata. I can't get things to work, though. Both drives, which work just fine over USB, don't even seem to want to appear on my iMac. On the occasions when they do, the iMac only "sees" one of the 4 JBOD drives, for instance...

    What am I doing wrong here? Is there something obvious I'm missing? Do the drives need to be formatted in a particular way? Is there a driver my iMac needs to work with them?

    Really hoping you can help because I'd love to take full advantage of the eSata speeds...

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. ilkhan4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #2
    Does your Icy Dock enclosure have a single eSATA port, or one for each drive? If it's the former, it's probably using eSATA port multiplication, which doesn't seem to be supported on the LaCie adapters.
     
  3. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #3
    I am fairly sure that port multiplication is not supported, but I don't have any hardware in front of me to test this right now.
     
  4. g4cube macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    #4
    The LaCie eSATA Hub does not support port-multipliers. I got that from LaCie directly.
     
  5. Chevner thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    #5
    Hi Guys

    Just wanted to check back here and thank all of you for your help. Like you said, the eSATA hub doesn't support port multiplication, so that was pretty much the end of the road. I returned it today. Now I'll just go back to waiting for my dream machine - an EMPTY thunderbolt enclosure!

    Thanks!
     

Share This Page