help with Macintosh Performa 5200CD

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by ldefoe, Sep 17, 2015.

  1. ldefoe macrumors newbie

    ldefoe

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    #1
    I just tried to turn on my Mac and I'm having some problems. when I try and turn it on, I don't here the chime, the screen doesn't turn on, and green light on the front doesn't turn on BUT I can hear a fan running and some sort of drive or something working. I took out the logic board and see no physical problems that I'm aware of. also, last night there was a HUGE lightning strike that made even a recorded program on my DVR go fuzzy - which has never happened before - and I'm wondering if this effected my Mac but I didn't think it did at the time as I turned it on after the strike and everything worked - I still left it unplugged for the rest of the night just to be safe. but today when I tried
    to turn it on I got the "Welcome to Mac OS" screen but even after while it didn't go to the start up screen, I then shut it off with the switch on the back, I then tried to turn it back on and got the problem I presented you with at the beginning. please help!
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    May be the logicboard. Electrical damage doesn't always fully show right away. Could be your PSU although what you say indicates you are getting power.

    Does the system have a graphic card or is it built in to the logicboard?
     
  3. ldefoe thread starter macrumors newbie

    ldefoe

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    #3
    I have no idea of it has a graphic card or if it's built into the logic board, how can I tell? also, I'm going to wait it out too because it was in my porch and it's super humid and rainy so I moved it inside. I'm not trying to disrespect you or anything but I really hope your wrong. because a logic board is a big deal I believe.
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    No worries. I'm wrong all the time. :D

    I hope it's not the LB either, but that's my initial thought based on your described symptoms and what happened.

    You can tell if the graphic chip is on the logicboard or not by opening the case. If your monitor cable is attached to a card that is plugged in to a slot on the LB then you have a graphics card. If your monitor cable is plugged into a slot that is directly connected to the logicboard then your graphic's chip is on the logicboard.

    If the chip fails on the LB then you have to replace the LB. If you have a graphic card you can try a different one.

    I'm just throwing stuff out there at the moment, I'm not positive about the nature of the problem one way or the other yet.
     
  5. ldefoe thread starter macrumors newbie

    ldefoe

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    #5
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    The 5200 don't really have a GPU or video card. Its video output processor is all integrated to the logicboard.
     
  7. DZ/015 macrumors 6502a

    DZ/015

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    Here is a link to the service manual for your Mac. I'd try to reset the logic board by disconnecting the pram battery first. Good luck!
     
  8. ldefoe thread starter macrumors newbie

    ldefoe

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    #8
    Thank you all for all your help! I have succeeded!!!! I first tried the reset of the logic board by taking the battery out for 15 minutes and then reinstalling but it didn't work, I then took the battery out and left it out and it booted up normally! Must be the battery, I notice what looks like some leakage on the batter as well. Anyway, thank you so much!!!
     
  9. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #9
    And this is why I did not say it was the logicboard for certain, LOL!

    Glad you have it running. The battery you mention is the PRAM battery. It's what allows the Mac to keep time and settings when it's off. If you can find a replacement that would be ideal.

    Also, you may want to clean up whatever battery corrosion you find where the battery was.
     

Share This Page