Help with Memory Card

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by No Regrets, Mar 6, 2012.

1. No Regrets macrumors regular

Hello,

I'm new to both Macbook Pros and photography. I took some photos with my digital camera today and just learned how to transfer them from my memory card to iPhoto.

My question now is this.....What is the correct and safe way for me to "eject" or "remove" the memory card from the MBP without causing harm to the card or computer?

Do I just simply pull it out of the MBP's slot, or are there certain things to click on before removing the card?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
    No Regrets

2. MacaDroid macrumors member

To eject the memory card properly you can either secondary click the icon on your Desktop and choose "Eject", or you can drag that icon down to your Trash icon on your dock which will turn into an eject symbol, and eject the memory card. Hope this helps! :apple:

3. No Regrets, Mar 6, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2012

No Regrets thread starter macrumors regular

Thank you for your reply. I feel really stupid.....I cannot find the icon. How do I find it, what does it look like?

I'm so sorry for my ignorance and truly appreciate you trying to help me.

Edited to add information:

I've clicked on the Finder icon at the bottom of my screen (looks like a face), then I clicked on "desktop" but then nothing shows up.

4. MacaDroid macrumors member

No problem at all :D.
    Alright, so when I say desktop I am referring to what you actually see when you have no applications open, it is basically your computer when you turn it on. When you plug your memory card in you should see a little icon pop up on there, it will most likely look like your memory card. That is the icon that I am referring to, so you can secondary click that icon like I told you, or you can drag it down to the Trash icon which will also eject it. Lemme know if that helps at all. :apple:

5. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

Interstella5555