Help with Migration Assistant, it got stuck.

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by memo90061, Apr 9, 2014.

  1. memo90061 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    I just got a MacBook Pro with Retina display, and I only wanted to transfer the application since the MacBook Pro only has 250gb. The total to transfer was only 30gb, so I didn't think it would take a long time over wifi. The MacBook doesn't have an ethernet connection, and I don't have a Thunderbolt wire. The total time I waited was 6 hours, but in the last two hours it said 15 minutes left. I got tired of waiting, and I cancelled everything. I checked the space left on the MacBook, and apparently the stuff is there because now It has 42 used, and I only had around 11gb. I'm not sure where it is though. What do I do??
     
  2. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #2
    Check /Applications and ensure it didn't create a separate user of the data.
     
  3. memo90061 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    It did not. Hmmm. I wonder where all the information got transferred to.
     
  4. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #4
    Check the root of the hard drive...
     
  5. memo90061 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6
    Wanna wipe the drive? Very rare and even Spotlight can't find it?
     
  7. KoolAid-Drink macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Download Grand Perspective (free) and run it. It should show big blocks where the hidden application files are.
     
  8. memo90061 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    Looks like the information has now dissapeared because now it shows 17gb used :/
     
  9. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #9
    The easiest way would be to hold CMD R and wipe the drive. Then use Migration Assistant and let it do its thing.
     

Share This Page