Help with Migration from PowerPC to Intel Mac

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jinpark, Mar 12, 2009.

  1. jinpark macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #1
    Hi all,
    What's the best way to migrate from a powerpc mac to an intel mac?
    I currently have a G5 iMac and just purchased the new 2.93 quad and have some questions since I've read some posts that discourage using the Migration assistant.

    1. What's the best way to get my music (itunes) over to the new machine?

    2. What's the best way to get my photos (aperture) over to the new machine?

    3. I don't use too many other apps other than photoshop at the moment so I'm not too concerned with leaving behind old files and apps but is there anything else I should be aware of in making a clean break from powerpc to intel?
     
  2. fa8362 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #2
    All you need to do is copy those files. Firewire is fastest. Also, I'd consider putting those files on an external drive. That way, next time, you don't have to copy anything, save for some pointing files which only take a few minutes to copy.
     
  3. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #3
    1. On you new mac, first install the latest version of iTunes, and open it so it creates the folders in your Music Folder. Once you have done this, go back to your old mac G5, copy the entire iTunes folder on to an external. Then replace your original iTunes Folder, with the one on your Intel. Wait for it to finish copying over the old folder, before opening it.

    Once done, you can open iTunes. It should have saved all of your playlists, songs, and settings.


    2. If Aperture has a export library feature of some kind, i would try that. Then install on Aperture the Intel, and then import the folder. Or something like that, if its like iPhoto, and has a crappy file origination then it might be a little harder.


    3. Nothing that i can think of at the moment.
     
  4. techound1 macrumors 68000

    techound1

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    #4
    I agree that a clean break is the best way to go.

    If you have a network set up, you can do the itunes move just once. Open itunes on the new machine, import the files from the old (over the network) - remembering to tell it to COPY the files and not just point to them, and you're good to go.

    I too don't know aperture, but at the very least, the photos are simply files that can be moved. If aperture builds a database like itunes does, there should be an export and import feature.
     
  5. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #5
    Or Target Disk Mode. I always forget about this option.
     

Share This Page