Help with Monitor Choice!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Bodybag, May 28, 2009.

1. Bodybag macrumors newbie

Hi

I have just bought a new Macbook 2.4 GHz and want to buy an external monitor. I have noticed there are tons of monitors out there, but all say they are compatible with Windows, now I have never bought a Monitor before, does that mean I would have problems running off a Mac? or is it the case that everything fits with a Mac?

I also have the option of DVI or VGA... hmmmm... I understand them both but trying to work out whats best for me. I'm a designer at heart but quit the business and now run a bar in Switzerland. I do still design for them and for other businesses, but all I want is some help and advice in buying a good quality, reasonably cheap monitor that will fir with my MacBook....

So here I am, anyone got any suggestions... If it help I have been looking at LG 22" monitors....

Cheers

2. Badradio macrumors 6502

All you'll need to connect your Mac to a monitor is the appropriate mini-Display-Port-to-whatever-connection converter, which you can get from an Apple Store for £15. I'd go for DVI over VGA, or even HDMI if there's a chance you might want to run an XBox 360 through the monitor. As for size/resolution, that's a personal choice, and there are lots of threads around here discussing it from all angles.

As for LG, they make great monitors for the price, as do Samsung. If I remember correctly, most, if not all, branded monitors are using LG or Samsung panels anyway. I just recommended a Samsung 24" to a friend and he loves it.

Or you could spend large and get an Apple LED 24". They're amazing if you can stomach the price and the glassy screen.

3. a1sterling macrumors newbie