Help with my iphones SIM card

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by vfp101vfp, Oct 20, 2009.

  1. vfp101vfp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #1
    what happend was that my friend has an iphone 1gen then he droped it and it got ran over, but it sill worked then he got the iphone 3g and he gave his old one to me today without using it for a year i did not know the pascode so i did a full system restore and put it back to factory settings and when its just done finishing it says " No SIM card instaled insert a valid SIM with no PIN to activate" help please all i want to do is get this iphone so I can use and an ipod
    Thanks please help

    i put a pic of what it says on the iphone in an attachment
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    You can do one of two things. You can insert an AT&T sim into it temporarily (any active AT&T sim will do) and that will make it so it doesn't need one in the future.

    Or you can jailbreak it, and make sure the option "activate" is checked. That will hacktivate the phone and it won't require a sim card.
     
  3. vfp101vfp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
  4. mackmgg macrumors 65816

    mackmgg

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #4
    Download PwnageTool if you're on 3.1.x, or redsn0w if you're on 3.0
     
  5. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #5
    If you are using a Mac, you can update your phone to 3.1.2 using Pwnage Tool, and you will see the option that says "activate" just make sure it's checked. If you are using a PC you can try something like blackra1n or downloading a custom IPSW from the internet, or you can just jailbreak the phone on OS 3.0 using redsn0w. :)
     
  6. vfp101vfp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #6
    Thanks so much but it will not even let me on the home page of the phone it says slide for emergancy. and im on a mac
     
  7. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #7
    That's why it has to be hacktivated. Go here and download pwnage tool, and then follow the instructions to jailbreak it, and it will be fully functional. You can even hide the phone icons to make it seem more ipod-like.
     
  8. vfp101vfp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
  9. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
  10. vfp101vfp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #10
    i have a problem i dont evan know what software the iphone in running on??
     
  11. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
  12. vfp101vfp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #12
    Settings > General >About. Look at the top.
    under what itunes??
     
  13. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #13
    Oh, I forgot you can't see the homescreen. Well It doesn't matter. Just search google for "iphone 2g 3.1.2 download link ipsw" and you should be able to download the new OS for the phone to use with the newest version of pwnage tool from that first link I gave you.
     

Share This Page