Help with PCIe slots on a 2008 Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dcpmark, Nov 12, 2016.

  1. dcpmark macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #1
    I have a 5770 in Slot 1, and an Apricorn Velocity Solo X2 in Slot 2. I decided to put an second SSD in, and bought another Apricorn for it. But as I'm putting it in, I realized that it's going in a 1.0 slot in Slot 3, right?? I think I need a Velocity DUO to have two separate bootable SSDs in one PCIe 2.0 slot, right?

    Thanks!
     
  2. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #2
    Slots 3 and 4 are PCIe 1.1, 4x, but will support the 16x width.

    Here's a link to Apple's PDF manual for more info. See page 60.
     
  3. dcpmark thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #3
    Thanks.....so I'll get slower speeds using the 1.1 slots, right? I think I need a Velocity Duo.
     
  4. OS6-OSX, Nov 12, 2016
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2016
  5. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #5
    Yes, it'll always operate at the speed of the slowest component. Like putting a USB 3.0 HD into a USB 2.0 port, it'll work but on 2.0 speeds.
     
  6. OS6-OSX macrumors 6502a

    OS6-OSX

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #6
    OK Mods pay up! I think I read some MR small print that and I quote, "If ever there are two or more users that have identical join dates on line at the same time in the same thread they will receive the latest Apple computer of their choice"! I noticed that "tech4all" and OS6-OSX have identical join dates! Please send one each of these to today's winners:p!
    MBP.png
     
  7. tech4all macrumors 68040

    tech4all

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    NorCal
    #7
    HAHA, I noticed that too! What a coincidence! :cool:
     
  8. dcpmark thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    #8
    Thanks sgain....got it.

    So is the Duo what I need to have two separate boot SSDs in one slot? Or does that card combine both SSDs into one drive?
     
  9. sevichenko macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2016

Share This Page