Help with Ringtone problem

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by accinfo, Sep 14, 2007.

  1. accinfo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #1
    I sync my iphone with two computers. My contacts from my work laptop and all my music and pictures with my home desktop. I have a few songs on my laptop. When I right click on my music from my laptop the option to create ringtone is there. On my desktop it isn't on any of my purchased music. Since that is where I have all my songs I can't convert any of them to ringtones. Also when I right click on a song on my laptop there is a choice to convert selection to AAC. On my home computer at the same place it says convert selection to MP3. Does anyone have a clue what is going on here? Any help will be appreciated.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #2
    i don't know exactly what's going on with your ringtones. all i know is that it requires the latest version of itunes, and it's only for a selected number of purchased itunes songs. what the computer will display in terms of "convert to mp3/aac" will depend on how you have your itunes set to import songs. if it's set to import songs as mp3s, the contextual menu will show "convert selection to mp3."
     
  3. accinfo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #3
    I have the latest itunes. I will look to see if I can change the way things are imported. On my laptop if you right click on any song it gives you the choice to convert to ringtone. If it isn't available it then tells you. On my desktop it isn't a choice.
     
  4. Brendon Bauer macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Location:
    Good 'ol USofA
    #4
    The reason the option to create a ringtone does not appear is because you do not have the latest iTunes. As for the convert to mp3/AAC, this is because of your settings. Go to your iTunes settings and check the import settings. If you have songs set to import as mp3, the option to convert to mp3 will appear. If it is set to import as AAC, then the option to convert to AAC will appear.

    If you're looking to make ringtones out of normal songs that Apple does not let you make into ringtones, try my iTunes Scripts. All it requires is that you have iTunes and Garageband, and it's quite easy!

    For more information on that technique, visit here.
     
  5. 3kids macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    #5
    Can I jump in to ask another ringtone question. I purchased an itunes rt and have set the section I wanted. I thought all was good, except my phone still rings with the standard ringer. I have synched the phone, the ringtone shows up on computer and is clicked to sync. But, no RHCP RT on my phone. (not listed under itunes or under sounds) Any ideas?
     
  6. billywhitelegs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    #6
    Click on the Ringtones folder to the left, double-click your ringtone to play i. When asked, provide your iTunes password, and the ringtone should now be authorized on your computer. Try syncing again and it should copy over.
     
  7. 3kids macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    #7
    Genius! Thank you!
     

Share This Page