Help with SE/30

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by ghall, May 21, 2007.

  1. ghall macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #1
    Hi everyone. I have a couple questions about the SE/30. How do I boot from the install floppy, and where can I find a list of the disks that are needed to install, just so I know if I have all the disks or not. Thanks!
     
  2. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #2
    Macs of that era will boot off a floppy disk if it's in the drive.

    What system version do you have?
     
  3. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #3
    6.0.8, I want to update to System 7.5 (I believe that's the highest the SE/30 supports).

    I was originally going to wipe the drive and do a clean install, but the system disks are corrupted, so I might as well upgrade the OS if I'm gonna have to make some new disks anyway.
     
  4. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #5
    I know where to get them, and I know most of what I need t make install disks, I just don't know how to put the contents of the disk images onto floppies.
     
  5. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #6
    Just because I'm crazy, I uploaded a video of my SE/30 to YouTube, if you want to check it out.
     
  6. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #7

    You should be able to do a disk copy from the file to the USB external floppy drive on a modern Mac...
     
  7. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #8
    ...ok, and? :confused:
     
  8. gkarris macrumors 604

    gkarris

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Location:
    "No escape from Reality..."
    #9
    When I get home I will try to make one on a modern Mac - I have original floppies in my Apple collection, so I never had to do something like this...
     
  9. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #10
    Okay, let me know when you've got it figured out.
     
  10. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #11
    Okay, I think I've got it figured out. I ran a few simulations in vMac, and I can at least get System 7.0 on there, so yay!
    I just have two more questions:
    1. What version of system 7 works best on the SE/30
    2. Will these floppies work to create an install disk?
     
  11. macEfan macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    #12
    1. OS 7.1 will run faster, but os 7.5 will have more features...your choice on which one you want...

    2. yes, those floppys will work with your SE/30 as long as you format them to mac first.
     
  12. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #13
    I guess I'll stick with 7.1 then. :D

    Anyway, can I format the floppy disks using Disk Utility since Disk Utility has an option for Mac OS Standard format? Or do I have to format them on OS 9 or earlier?
     
  13. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #14
    Hi, just to let you all know, I have my SE/30 running smoothly with System 7.0.1. YAY!!!
     
  14. spork183 macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #15
    Cool. What are your future plans for it?

    If you install connectix mode 32, it will trick it into thinking you are running 32bit clean (se/30's ran 32bit dirty.) The advantage is in being able to address more than 8mb of physical ram. My SE/30 ran really nice on 7.6 w/32mb of ram.

    Although, to preserve historical flavor, you might want to leave it with 7.0.1 and the stock ram (2mb if I recall, or could have even been 1. I remember adding 4-1mb sims to bring it up to a rocking total of 5mb, as my first upgrade.)
     
  15. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #16
    No idea. I have no plans currently. This particular computer holds a special place in my heart because it's the first computer I ever used, so guess my plans are to keep it alive as long as possible, maybe try and get some of the old games I used to play back onto it.

    Does anyone know where I can get:
    SimCity
    Cosmic Osmo
    Spelunx

    Those were some of my favorites back in the day, and I can't find any of the disks. :(
     
  16. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #17
    The SE/30 is really fast, so you should be fine with 7.5.5.
     
  17. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #18
    Well, I'll just see how 7.0.1 works out for now.
     
  18. spork183 macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #19
    don't let all us "upgrade niks" rain on your parade. That's a cool machine no matter what you are running on it. If you get tired of it, let me know. I still miss mine...
     
  19. ghall thread starter macrumors 68040

    ghall

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Rhode Island
    #20
    Don't worry I won't. :D
    Yeah, like I'm gonna give up the first computer I ever used to somebody I never met in person. :p
     

Share This Page