Help with slipstreaming SP1

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by SMspitfire, Jul 25, 2007.

  1. SMspitfire macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    #1
    I have a legit XP SP1 disk, and I know I need to slipstream SP2 onto it and burn a bootable disk, but I have no access to a windows machine. I understand how I would do everything if I could get my hands on a PC, but that's not an option at the moment. Is there any way around this given my limited resources? Would it be possible to burn a bootable XP cd from OS X if I managed to copy the SP1 disk image onto my MBP, send it to someone to perform the slipstream, then send back the correct image?

    edit: I didn't specify, I'm doing this for bootcamp, if that wasn't clear.
     
  2. Sbrocket macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #2
    I'm not aware of any method of slipstream SP2 onto a Windows install disc without already having a PC available. As I'm sure you know, typically people will use something like nLite to copy their installation CD, slipstream the service pack, and then image/burn the result.

    Have you considered downloading VMware Fusion RC1 (still free) and installing your copy of XP SP1 as a virtual OS on there, then using that to slipstream SP2 and burn you a new install disc? That's the quickest solution I can think of without a PC readily available.
     
  3. waremaster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #3
    Can you get a friend to do it in a windows environment?
     
  4. SMspitfire thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    #4
    If that works, that's a really good idea. Thanks for the suggestion, I'll give it a try and post the results.
     
  5. Sbrocket macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #5
    I can't think of any reason it wouldn't work. You aren't supposed to install anything prior to XP SP2 as a native OS on Mac hardware because of hardware support issues (its somewhere in the Boot Camp docs), but there should be no such issues with VMware Fusion. Otherwise, a virtual OS has no differences in functionality that would stop nLite working.
     

Share This Page