Help with SSD and Yosemite.

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by kslingo, Oct 21, 2014.

  1. kslingo, Oct 21, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2014

    kslingo macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #1
    So I recently installed a 120gb ssd in my machine and installed Yosemite. Now when I reboot, I get a prohibition symbol. Basically its a no smoking sign. I have to power off the machine and power back on...

    So my question is could my sata cable be going bad? It says waiting for root device when I restart.

    Also I have returned the drive and got a replacement and the replacement does the same thing. Its a 2010 MB Pro 13".

    Thanks for your assistance.
     
  2. Blackstick macrumors 6502

    Blackstick

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Location:
    Sunny South Florida
    #2
    Could be a bad cable. Only $60 or so for part and labor at Apple. They won't charge if it continues to be broken.
     
  3. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #3
  4. kslingo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #4
    I don't know if I have TRIM enabled... I literally took it out of the box, installed it in macbook pro, then put my flash drive with 10.10 installer in the drive and installed it... Then when it rebooted from the install it gave me that symbol.
     
  5. crjackson2134, Oct 21, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2014

    crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    Put the original drive back and see if it boots correctly. That will demonstrate weather there are any issues other than the drive (eliminate the question of the cable).

    If that works, clone the drive to the SSD and see what happens. If that works, then worry about Yosemite.

    Also, how about going back to the first post and edit the title to be more descriptive of your problem. You'll get more help that way.

    It would be helpful to post the full system specs. to determine how to proceed. What OS version are you trying to upgrade from?
     
  6. kslingo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #6
    My 5400 RPM HD works fine in the machine so that's not a problem.

    ----------

    MacBook Pro 13" 2010
    2.4 GHZ Intel core 2 duo
    8gb ram
    120gb SSD.

    Fresh install of Yosemite
     
  7. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #7
    Read the thread I linked to. It is only 16 posts. I think it will solve your problem.
     
  8. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    Okay, hopefully you have a USB enclosure that you can put the SSD into and clone your working drive to.

    How are you backing up your system? You can use a Time Machine backup to do a full restore to the new SSD. It's a very good method for getting your working OS onto the SSD.
     
  9. kslingo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #9
    I tried the TRIM solution and it didn't work... Im starting to think its a bad cable, but it doesn't make sense that the original hard drive works fine, but the sata drive is being picky...

    ----------

    Well my plan was to just reinstall Yosemite and use Migration Assistant from the other hard drive in a enclosure. I think I am going to make an appointment at the apple store to see if it is in fact the data cable.

    ----------

    Another interesting thing is when I reboot before it says "Still waiting for root device" it says waiting for boot-udid-media.
     
  10. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #10
    Did I missread something?

    He said it's a new drive out of the box and using a virgin installer. Trim hasn't been implemented yet.
     
  11. kslingo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #11
    Yes, I took the drive out of the box and formatted it as Mac OS X Extended (Journled) then I installed Yosemite from a flash drive that I have.

    I then tried Mavericks to see if it was a bug with yosemite, but sadly its not :(
     
  12. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #12
    Is this an Apple SSD?
     
  13. kslingo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #13
    No its a PNY Optima that I got at best buy for $70
     
  14. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #14
    If you put this thing in an enclosure and check out the drive, you MIGHT save yourself a trip to the Apple Store.
     
  15. kslingo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #15
    I have my 500gb HDD in a enclosure and the SSD as my hard drive... This is extremely bizarre because I can use the SSD as the hard drive I just can't reboot the machine or else it will display the error.
     
  16. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #16
    I suggest you put your known good, bootable, trouble free, original drive back into the lappy, and place the SSD into a compatible enclosure. Then clone the original to the SSD. Then swap the SSD back into the laptop and give it another try (without any external drives attached while booting).
     
  17. kslingo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #17
    I'm going to try that tomorrow, thanks for the tip!
     
  18. kslingo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #18
    Okay I tried this and its doing the same thing with the sign :( I guess its off to the apple store I go... At least I can use it and not try to reboot for now...
     
  19. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #19
    Starting to sound like a compatibility issue. Let us know what the final solution is. I'm not too sure Apple will do anything with the third party SSD. I'm guessing they will try with an Apple part and tell you to buy one.
     
  20. kslingo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #20
    Another question I have is could it be that the system doesn't like the sata 3 drive because it is only compatible with sata 2?
     
  21. deviant macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #21
    Nope, sata 1-2-3 are all compatibile. ive never heard of a PNY ssd. Buy a micron/crucial/Samsung drive. The new micron mx100 is the cheapest. I have a Samsung 840 in my 2007 iMac so it's not the Sata for sure
     
  22. deviant macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    #23
  23. kslingo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    #24
    But could it be the SATA Cable is going bad? I don't want to buy a new drive and have the same problem..... Does anyone know how to test?
     
  24. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #25
    The SATA cable is just fine. If it was going bad, your original Hard Drive would not work either.
     

Share This Page