Help with UiPicker

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by greg1067, Dec 22, 2009.

1. greg1067 macrumors newbie

Hello to all. I am still very new at the iPhone programming so bear with me. :eek: I am working on an app that uses the pickerView and am having some difficulties with it. I have the "wheels" populated and running correctly in the debugger. I can send the selected items to a string using NSLog, but what I want to do is, based on the users' selection in both components-do somehthing. Basically it is a measurement converter so in column 1 if teaspoon is selected and in column 2 tablespoon is selected, then convert the number of tsp to tbs(this number comes from a textbox that I do not have connected yet). Just trying to figure out how to get the selected index formatted correctly into an if statement. Then I will worry about the code for the conversion.

Here is my code for what is working and what I am trying to do with it. As stated above, I am able to get the selected items to show up in the NSLog, but to use the selected item in an if statement is my problem
    Code:
    -(IBAction) calc:(id)sender
    {
    	NSString* themessage = [NSString stringWithFormat:@"This %@ and this %@ are the measurements being converted.",
    							[from objectAtIndex:[calcPicker selectedRowInComponent:0]],
    							 [to objectAtIndex:[calcPicker selectedRowInComponent:1]]];

//This is where I am trying to pull specific selections from the picker and then will do the conversions based on what is picked

if ([from objectAtIndex: [calcPicker selectedRowInComponent:0]] == 1) {

//do some coversion math here.....

}

NSLog(themessage);

}	

2. greg1067 thread starter macrumors newbie

Anyone have an idea or do you not understand what I am trying to do?

3. dejo Moderator

dejo

Staff Member

What is stored in from and to? Are you sure you can compare it to 1 with a simple ==?

4. greg1067 thread starter macrumors newbie