Help with Winebottler... getting frustrated!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by babygirl567, Jan 8, 2010.

  1. babygirl567 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #1
    Hi okay.:mad::eek:
    I am running OSX 10.6.2 (Snow Leopard).
    I have X11 2.3.4
    I have installed the latest WinebottlerCombo 1.1.35 (includes Wine)

    I have a pc file with .exe on the end it will put software into my mac version of DAZ Studio.

    I had this working when I had 10.5.8 installed, but then I had to go and mess things up.

    When I open my exe file the window opens up:
    You are about to install a Wine file
    What would you like to do with it?
    •run directly in users/michelle/Wine Files
    •Convert to simple OSX Application bund with Winebottler.

    (I've tried both)
    the first one run directly... (this is the one I used previously) when I click go, nothing happens

    When I choose the 2nd Convert to simple OSX...
    The WineBottler opens. I leave all presets and click install, Save As new name click save -> I get the install bar, then it stops and I get this message (everytime)
    Prefix creation exited with error (you find a logfile to help with debuggin on you desktop.

    I'm posting the report just incase someone can read it::confused:

    ###BOTTLING### default.sh
    ###BOTTLING### Gathering debug Info...

    Versions
    OS...........................: darwin10.0
    Wine.........................: 1.1.35
    WineBottler..................: 1.1.35

    Environment
    PWD..........................: '/Applications/Wine.app/Contents/Resources/bin'
    PATH.........................: /usr/gnu/bin:/usr/local/bin:/bin:/usr/bin:.
    WINEPATH.....................: /Applications/Wine.app/Contents/Resources/bin
    LD_LIBRARY_PATH..............: /Applications/Wine.app/Contents/Resources/lib:/usr/X11R6/lib
    DYLD_FALLBACK_LIBRARY_PATH...: /usr/lib:/Applications/Wine.app/Contents/Resources/lib:/usr/X11R6/lib
    FONTCONFIG_FILE..............: /Applications/Wine.app/Contents/Resources/etc/fonts/fonts.conf
    DIPSPLAY.....................: /tmp/launch-6eInIX/:0
    SILENT.......................:
    http_proxy...................:
    https_proxy..................:
    ftp_proxy....................:
    socks5_proxy.................:

    Hardware:

    Hardware Overview:

    Model Name: iMac
    Model Identifier: iMac9,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 3.06 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 6 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: IM91.008D.B08
    SMC Version (system): 1.45f0
    Serial Number (system): You dont need this
    Hardware UUID: You dont need this info either

    ###BOTTLING### Create .app...
    ###BOTTLING### installing volnum
    Fontconfig error: line 1: no element found
    Fontconfig error: Cannot load default config file
    Fontconfig error: line 1: no element found
    Fontconfig error: Cannot load default config file
    ###BOTTLING### Registering native dlls...
    ###BOTTLING### Installing Desktop
    DAZ
    Studio
    UberHair.rar
    10164_1_ds_UberHairShaderUpdeforUberSurface_1.exe...
    Fontconfig error: line 1: no element found
    Fontconfig error: Cannot load default config file
    Fontconfig error: line 1: no element found
    Fontconfig error: Cannot load default config file
    err:module:import_dll Library MSVCP60.dll (which is needed by L"C:\\windows\\temp\\twapi-2.0a7.dll") not found
    err:module:import_dll Library MSVCP60.dll (which is needed by L"C:\\windows\\temp\\twapi-2.0a7.dll") not found
    ###ERROR### Command '/Applications/Wine.app/Contents/Resources/bin/wine /Users/dmhanratty/Desktop/ DAZ Studio Pro/UberSurfaceShader_HairExpan/UberHair.rar Folder/10164_1_ds_UberHairShaderUpdeforUberSurface_1.exe' returned status 1.
    Task returned with status 15.
     
  2. robgranholm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    #2
    Have you hunted down the fix yet?

    I believe it's making some calls to the web to install fonts that Internet Explorer uses, the website it calls is down. I think at least...have you had any luck with this?

    -r
     
  3. babygirl567 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #3
    since posting this...
    I've got winebottler working.
    It only seems to work on older files tho (dont know why)
     
  4. robgranholm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
  5. babygirl567 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #5
    Well... It wasnt that it didn't work.
    I kept trying different installers (I'm relentless)
    and then all of a sudden some started to work.
    I noticed it was the older ones that I was trying to open worked. I had been trying newer ones they kept giving me this message.

    Are you trying to install poser software also?
     
  6. robgranholm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    #6
    Ie6

    By older installers you mean, older revisions of Winebottler like Winebottler 1.1.34 and 1.1.33?

    No I'm just trying to get IE6 running.

    -r
     
  7. babygirl567 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #7
    No older versions of the pc's installer software.
    I don't this I'm going to be of any help to you.
    If you were trying to open Poser stuff I'd have talked you thru.
    The software I was opening is really just a matter of unpacking it, it doesnt
    really install any working software.

    Have you seen this thread tho?
    http://www.downloadsquad.com/2006/06/07/run-internet-explorer-6-on-mac-os-x/
     
  8. vipercore macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #8
    I have the answer!!

    To install an .exe you need to open package contents of Winebottler in finder, click on "Contents"
    click on "MacOS"
    click on "Winebottler"
    when it opens search for "vc" in the search field
    tick the one that says "vcrun6"
    then select your install file and click "Install" :D
    Works for me atleast :)
     
  9. Olimuk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    #9
    I can't find this vcrun6
     
  10. NewtoMac:s macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    #10
    I have had massive problems trying to install Metatrader 4 using Winebottler, with error message Prefix creation error. After reading many threads, I still couldn't find any solutions. I couldn't find this vcrun6 either! However, when I downloaded MT4 from here: http://www.metaquotes.net/ it opened with Wine and ran perfectly! Fingers crossed for no more problems, and I hope it works for everyone else too! :)
     
  11. DGMac00 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2014
    #11
    Works for Metatrader 4 when I selected these four..
    Screenshot for the benefit of others ;)

    [​IMG]
     
  12. qparis macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
  13. fiat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    #13
    Hi, I just received a medical record CD (x-ray, MRI images etc.) which can only be opened and run by pc (win machine). I use mac with wine.app and winebottler.app installed. When I load the CD and try to open it, the program starts to run, show the home page (hospital pic), and show the diagnostic results... but no images in the viewer! I try to create an app bundle for the CD and it completes the app. And I run the app to get the same thing -- no images can be seen! I didn't check any winetricks when creating the app. Are there any I need to check? I don't know the name of the CD program, but the command file should be: "DCSSTART.EXE" Thanks for help
     
  14. RODERICK89 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    #14
     
  15. WILDMUSTANGX, Apr 28, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2016

    WILDMUSTANGX macrumors newbie

    WILDMUSTANGX

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    #15
    Hi! I know this is a fairly old thread, but does anybody have any tips for using Winebottler to install PC games on Mac? I keep running into some snags, while attempting this. I try convert the game installer EXE to a "simple OS X application bundle" and it starts installing and gets stuck halfway. Sometimes it finishes, if I click on the unfinished app icon, that appears on the desktop and then the game's startup window appears. It tries to finish installing the game and updates, but keeps quitting unexpectedly, so I can never actually get the game to open. After trying to reopen it a few time, I get an error message, telling me I need to start over. I don't know anything about coding, or programing, but if anyone has any tips that could help me get this game working, I'd really appreciate it.
     
  16. buyakul macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    #16
    help.. i want to convert an exe to an app with wine bottler .. and when "installing application name.exe" it pops up message Undefined WinExec Error and the app doesn t work on Mac.. can someone know what s wrong? thank you!
     
  17. papaya1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2016
    #17
    hi Im trying to install mt4 with wine and can't find the app once its downloaded....I have to reinstall it everytime I want to open in it??? Cant fin it in Applications,or Finder...please help! Thanks!
     
  18. jblagden macrumors 65816

    jblagden

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    #18
    Check out PlayOnMac. It uses Wine, but it has scripts for all the special Wine settings you need to get games and programs working. Here’s a link to their site: https://www.playonmac.com/en/supported_apps-1-0.html
     

Share This Page