Help with winetricks and Windows program install.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by rgr555, Oct 9, 2012.

  1. rgr555, Oct 9, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2012

    rgr555 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #1
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
  3. rgr555 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #3
    how would I navigate to winetricks folder?

    The difference is there is no address bar to type in which folder I specifically want to get into.

    Am I supposed to go to Macintosh HD and then use the search function? What's the best way to navigate specific folders on OSX?
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    Yes, you can click on the toolbar: Go > Go To Folder > type the path name
    Yes, you can search, as well. Just search for Winetricks and you will see the folder, if it exists.

    Navigation is the same tree structure as Windows, with folders within folders. Rather than C:\ being your starting point for your entire internal drive, / is the starting point in your Mac HD.
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    You can use the "Go to Folder" command - CMD+SHIFT+G - and enter the path in there or you navigate by hand, which is not that complicated unless it is the 20th sub folder of some other folder.
    I hardly use the Go to Folder command and navigate to many subfolder via the List View, though Column View (CMD+3) might be a bit easier for this.

    You have used Finder before?
     
  6. rgr555 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #6
    Thanks

    I keep forgetting every time you click a program, the toolbar on top changes with it.
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    I really encourage you to read the Helpful Information for Any Mac User link that simsaladimbamba posted earlier.
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    That is the "Menu Bar", and it is application dependent and changes accordingly to the active application.


    Basic Mac OS X Graphical User Interface (GUI) Elements
    clickable for bigger picture
    [​IMG]
     
  9. rgr555 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #9
  10. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #10
    Not me, but you can edit your thread title to a descriptive one (Help with Winetricks ...), to get a knowledgable audience and help making the thread easier to find for people looking for the same information.
    Just click on the [​IMG] button on the bottom right of your original post and then click the [​IMG] button below your message to edit your thread title.
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
  12. rgr555 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #12
    I need more specifics. I've seen and read these sites and it's just not detailed enough. Pretty frustrating.

    I've downloaded and installed Wine, Macports properly.

    Now they want me to download a winetricks.txt ? What the heck am I supposed to do with this. So vague.
     
  13. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #13
    Have you considered an alternate method? To run Windows apps on your Mac, you need to install Windows via Boot Camp or use Parallels or VMware Fusion.

    If you don't have a Windows license, you can use CrossOver to run some applications. Not all Windows apps are compatible with CrossOver. Check their site for compatible apps.

    For more information about running Windows on your Mac, check out the Windows on the Mac forum.
     
  14. rgr555, Oct 9, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 9, 2012

    rgr555 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    #14
    I'm not interested in Boot Camp. No need for a whole OS just for one small program. I appreciate your help though.

    I've installed one program already (MetaTrader 4) and this other one (Trading Station 2) is supposed to work, I just need assistance with winetricks and these instructions.

    Instructions: http://www.fxcodebase.com/wiki/index.php/How_to_Run_Trading_Station_2_under_Mac
     

Share This Page