Help would be great.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Deva, Jun 26, 2009.

1. Deva macrumors newbie

O.k. So if anyone could answer me or try to help that would be fantastic, ( BTW sorry I'm completely new to macrumors wasn't sure of where to post this) Ok so, my ipod touch got some water damage, I'm guessing from humidity I'm not sure, the indicator in the headphone jack is SLIGHTLY pink just a little bit of it. I was thinking of taking it into a mac store or w/e and getting it replaced? If that's possible, but I've heard that they're incredibly uptight about water damage and warranty. Now I also have a 2 year warranty from wal-mart saying they'll replace it after the year of apple's warranty is up, If anyone has had anything similiar to this happen and could tell me what I should do that'd be great. The wal-mart warranty says it'll be replaced from ware/tare, environmental issues, any electrical issues etc. Oh and I've tried waiting for it to dry, rice trick, etc. I'm guessing It's not working since I turned it on when it got water damage, but now it will not turn on or do anything, except get hot when I try to plug it in to my laptop. I'm guessing turning it on while that happened completely fried it and I'm in a bit of a predicament. Help would be appreciated thanks!
    Oh!, My ipod touch has also been jailbroken and since this happened I haven't had any way of resetting it to it's factory settings and I'm curious if somehow they replace it , if after they do and find out its jailbroken if they will somehow contact me and take the ipod back? legal issues? Idk I'm only 16 and this is a major pain ! Dx

2. mrj205 macrumors regular

if there is water damage apple will not do much for you. i don't know how a walmart warranty would work, maybe you can call them and ask the policy on water damage. i hate to say this, but it's probably bricked, so now you just have a fancy paper weight...:(