HELP! yosimite boot screen

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by jfreak623, Aug 13, 2014.

  1. jfreak623 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #1
    I made a horrible decision. I upgraded to Yosimite and everything has worked great for the last month UNTIL I did a restart. Now my progress bar goes halfway and pauses. I tried to let it take it's time but it ends up just turning the computer off! I ran disk utility and my disk is ok and I reset the PRAM but nothing has worked so far. Anybody else experience this???? I don't want to reformat!
     
  2. asriznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    The steps on the following article is a good guide on fixing this issue: http://support.apple.com/kb/TS2570

    Erase and install is indeed last resort in that article.

    Good luck!
     
  3. jfreak623 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #3
    I can't get safe boot to work on OSX 10.10. Not sure what to do but I'm def gonna be more smarter about this next time! Not sure why I didn't just do a seperate partition. Anyone know if target disk mode works on 10.10? If I can get files off that's all I care about.
     
  4. jfreak623 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #4
    This is the screen I'm getting hung up on. The only thing I can say is that it didn't do clean shutdown and now the bar gets hung at 50% and ultimately just shuts off.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Miguel Cunha macrumors 6502

    Miguel Cunha

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Location:
    Braga, Portugal
    #5
    Have you tried to start up the computer with the ALT key pressed and when all bootable discs/partitions are displayed, to select the Recovery partition and repairing disc and permissions, from there, using Disk Utility?
     
  6. jfreak623 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #6
    Yep. Another user experience same thing it appears and he got lucky it eventually booted after several tries of booting. I keep trying with same results. I backed up photos before upgrading but haven't backed up since being on osx 10.10 and have some pretty important photos not backed up.

    Im a idiot for doing this on top of mavericks and not on sep partition. Lesson learned for sure.
     
  7. asriznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    Target disk mode should work, if not, try the following

    1. Have an external HDD ready
    2. Boot to recovery, installed OS X Yosemite on your external HDD
    3. you should be able to access your internal HDD on the working installation off your external HDD and copy the stuffs you need.
     
  8. jfreak623 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
  9. shenan1982 macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #9
    I had the same issue. Second boot worked. Over Yosemite already. It's one thing for it to be beta, but for things like Safari to have reverted to old issues that have never existed all the while Chrome and Firefox work fine is a sad thing for Apple
     
  10. DiabBarca macrumors regular

    DiabBarca

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Location:
    Omdurman - Sudan
    #10
    Used to happen to me unill.....

    It used to happen to me until I stopped restarting my device. Now I shut it down then restart it again by pressing the power button.

    So to fix that grey screen, I did a hard shut down by pressing the power button for 4 seconds, and then started my my Mac normally.
     
  11. jfreak623 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #11
    If I can just get it to boot one more time, I'm backing up my crap and going back to mavericks
     
  12. jfreak623 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #12
    This mean anything to anyone? Keeps saying incorrect number of thread records and that the drive couldn't be repaired.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Dj64Mk7 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    #13
    It looks like it's stuck in a loop.

    Can you get to the Recovery partition (hold down option while booting)?
    If you can, go into Disk Utility, select Macintosh HD, and click on Repair Disk or Repair Disk Permissions.
     
  14. asriznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Location:
    Singapore
    #14
    well it looks like your OS is corrupted and it cannot be repaired.

    Your next best bet is to do a manual backup either by target disk mode or the steps i provided in my previous post.
     
  15. jfreak623 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #15
    Went to best buy last night and bought a 2TB drive and a thunderbolt cable. Gonna throw it in target disk mode tonight and connect to another Mac and hopefully throw everything on the new external and then set this thing back to Mavericks!
     

Share This Page