Help!!

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by will waters, Aug 10, 2011.

1. will waters macrumors regular

Hi

I am still very new to web design and I have built a website on iWeb, what do I now do to let people over the Internet, I know that you have to buy a domain name but can you run the website of a computer that does not run server software? Ideally a guide of how to do it would be ideal, however just some advice would be fantastic.

Thanks Will

2. nomade macrumors member

nomade

You need a domaine name
    You need a hosting server
    You need to point your domain name to your server (DNS)
    you need to ftp the files that compose your site on on your server
    and that's it... basically

3. Cromulent macrumors 603

Cromulent

Just to add though that you should never use FTP to upload files to your server as it will send everything in clear text format over the internet including your username and password. Always use SFTP (this is the preferred choice) or FTPS.

4. will waters thread starter macrumors regular

So can you use a computer without server software as a hosting server?

5. 7on macrumors 601

7on

Nope you need server software on the hosting computer. Just go to holeinthewallhosting.com and they should take care of you. If you want a domain name, try hover.com. (holeinthewall will set you up with a yourname.holeinthewallhosting.com address, but having yourown.com is insanely better.

Both will have yearly fees, but these are about the cheapest I've found.

6. wpotere Guest

Not really true.... You can use a regular machine to host, but if using windows, connections will be limited. I used to host a blog on XP using Apache and had no problems. Even now you can still load up Win 7 or Mac OSX with Apache and host away.

7. will waters thread starter macrumors regular

old computer