Help!!!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by kammron, Jul 27, 2007.

  1. kammron macrumors 6502

    kammron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta
    #1
    my new imac came today, and i boot it up, looking and working great.
    i let it run through the updates, and i come back shortly after and its at a grey screen with the loading icon.
    it does this for some time, so i leave it come back in about 45 minutes and its still doing this, so i manually restart.
    upon restart i get an error:

    panic(cpu 0 caller 0x003a934f): Unable to find driver for thiss platform: "ACPI".

    Debugger called: <panic>
    and so on...

    the message in the center of the screen sais, " you need to restart your computer. Hold down the power button for sever...

    after resatrting numerous times and getting the same message,
    i reeinstall tiger thinkin a fresh install will fix it,
    but after doing so i get the same error,
    also the hardware test shows no issues.
    does anyone have a clue what the issue is?
     
  2. nuclearwinter macrumors regular

    nuclearwinter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Location:
    Milky Way
    #2
    Fuzzy memory, but I think...

    ACPI=Advanced Configuration and Power Interface.

    I believe that a System Management Controller (SMC) reset might work. On the iMac G5 you unplug the power cable and hold down the power button. I think the light on the front flashes. After that plug in the power cable and start up the computer.

    This might work. I'm going from memory here so if anyone else knows how to reset the PMU on the Intel iMac, chime in.

    EDIT: Found the Apple Support Document here.
     
  3. nuclearwinter macrumors regular

    nuclearwinter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Location:
    Milky Way
  4. kammron thread starter macrumors 6502

    kammron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta
    #4
    i thought for sure the smc reset would do it,
    but nothing.
    this is stupid lol:confused:
     
  5. MonksMac macrumors 6502a

    MonksMac

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Location:
    DFW
    #5
    It might be a hardware problem, talk to apple about it.
     
  6. motulist macrumors 601

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #6
    Start up from the OS disk while holding down the option key and run the hardware diagnostic.
     
  7. kammron thread starter macrumors 6502

    kammron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta
    #7
    i will run through it again but so far nothing has worked,
    not to impressed lol, but it was a good 5 minutes
    you you mean hold d for diagnostics?
     
  8. kammron thread starter macrumors 6502

    kammron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta
    #8
    would formatting the disc and reeinstalling os x wreck everything?
     
  9. MonksMac macrumors 6502a

    MonksMac

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Location:
    DFW
    #9
    After you put the DVD in the drive hold down the "D" key on the keyboard.
    Edit:^^^^ I'm not sure what you mean. You should try an Archive and and Install.
    An Archive and Install Simply Reinstalls the system files while leaving your personal data untouched.
    In the Mac OS X Installer on one of the screens you will a button for options and it should give you the choice for A&I.
     
  10. motulist macrumors 601

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #10
    It will be printed on the OS X disk itself which key you need to hold down.
     
  11. kammron thread starter macrumors 6502

    kammron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta
    #11
    im in disk utilities and i have done first aid.
    i can erase partition RAID or restore as well
     
  12. motulist macrumors 601

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #12
    That is totally different than the apple hardware test. Look at what is written on the disk and it will tell you how to get to the hardware test.
     
  13. kammron thread starter macrumors 6502

    kammron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta
    #13
    i'm quite dissapointed here,
    you spend 1500 dollars on an imac,
    and from what ive read, its the itunes update which turns it into a melon.
    ill have to contact apple, send it back, and wait another 4 weeks untill im back from holidays to get any work done.
     
  14. MonksMac macrumors 6502a

    MonksMac

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Location:
    DFW
  15. kammron thread starter macrumors 6502

    kammron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta
    #15
  16. kammron thread starter macrumors 6502

    kammron

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta
    #16
    good news,
    i formatted the drive,
    and did a fresh install,
    and its working good,
    im just afraid to make any updates, i have a feeling the 10.4.10 combined update will hurt the imac again.
    but good to be using it and its a vast improvement from an emac.
    thanks for the help
     

Share This Page