Here are the WORKING O2 EDGE settings :-)

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by LCaller, Sep 23, 2007.

  1. LCaller macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    #1
    Sneaky ba$tards. I knew they were using a different username to get on.

    So here are the WORKING EDGE network settings ( i'm connected now - reminder to self, update data plan :) )

    APN : web.02.co.uk
    Username : faster
    Password : web
     
  2. RossoA macrumors 6502

    RossoA

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    Horsham, UK
  3. Spanners macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells, UK
    #3
    Hmmm

    This doesn't work for me?? I wonder if it is tariff specific? Which tariff are you on?
     
  4. sinecurea macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #4
    And in other news, the correct settings are:

    APN: mobile.o2.co.uk
    User:mobileweb
    Pass: password
     
  5. LCaller thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    #5
    It seems to be tarrif specific. These ones do not work for me as my ones do.

    I'm on a plan with 30Mb of data inclusive a month.

    Video showing settings and connectivity coming shortly.
     
  6. Spanners macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells, UK
    #6
    Not quite....

    I used

    APN: mobile.o2.co.uk
    User:faster
    Pass: web

    This did the trick for me... works like a dream. Now all I need to know is how much this will cost me per kb?
     
  7. Morgo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    #7
    Another thumbs up here. These settings worked for me too, as a new o2 customer (on the online simplicity package)
     
  8. richardlai macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #8
    None of these settings work for my O2 "Pay & Go" card, although I do have the "E" logo at the top. Still relying on Wi-Fi. :mad:

    Google wasn't helpful for me either. Any ideas?
     
  9. MrT8064 macrumors 6502a

    MrT8064

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    E in the UK doesnt definatly mean edge, it could be GPRS... imported phones have no 'G' logo!!
     
  10. spinstorm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #10
    I think the "E" on O2 DOES mean EDGE as I have it on my iPhone but not at all times as it comes and goes depending on the area and GRPS is available everywhere so that would not happen if that was what it really was!
     
  11. crd945 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #11
    edge settings

    yea o2 just released a 7.50 unlimited data plan for the pay as you go customers... I have tried every set of settings I have found and none of them have worked on my iphone... has anyone been able to figure this out?
     
  12. drax macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #12
    I'm on the new O2 £7.50 plan and I can confirm that these settings work:

    APN: mobile.o2.co.uk
    User:faster
    Pass: web
     
  13. Astarael macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #13
    I'm on the new o2 pay&go £7.50 plan too, and i've entered the all of the various APN/username/pass on this page a few times, still having an issue.

    the error message that i'm getting says "Could not activate EDGE: You are not subscribed to EDGE." then a safari error "Safari can't open thepage because it could not connect to the server".

    Are these errors due to the wrong APN/username/password, or are they due to something in the unlocking phase?

    (i'm using an unlocked US iphone, not updated. have no problems with any of the other features, wifi works great.)

    Thanks for any responses from anyone!
     
  14. Simon1966 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #14
    I to am using an unlocked iPhone and trying to use the £7.50 web O2 bolt-on and none of the above settings are working on my phone.
    Spoke to O2 customer sevs and support and they say i can't use it on an iPhone:mad:
    I hope someone finds the answer soon so i can use the internet on my phone.

    Regards Simon

    PS the settings i was given were:

    apn - payandgo.o2.co.uk
    username - payandgo
    password - password
     
  15. Morgo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    #15
    I had issues with this initially - however I found that by entering the settings (as per my post above) and then restarting the phone did the trick. Prior to that I had entered the settings and tried to use Edge/GPRS but failed.
     
  16. shadow7030 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    #16
    Just to Clarify!

    Hiall, just to clarify. When i recieve my unlocked iphone, i can put my o2 sim card in and configure using details on this thread and i can use the data facilities within the iphone. I understand i can buy a dat bolt on also. I have contacted O2 and they will give me no information in regards to edge, it seems to be top secret until they release the iPhone here in the UK. Does anyone actually have it working at the moment? Thanks
     
  17. tomacintosh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    #17
    I've added the £7.50 Bolt on and can't get it working either :confused:
     
  18. thinkscientist macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    #18
    Anybody get this to work

    Hi there


    Have a o2 pay and go sim, registered for £7.50 service

    I have tried all of those settings to no joy!

    I have tried switching iphone off and then on again but still doesnt work

    sometimes it says cannot activate edge and sometimes it just says

    "safari can't open the page..................."


    Can someone please shed any light

    I just paid £7.50 for this month for nothing otherwise :'(
     
  19. tomacintosh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    #19
    I've been emailing O2 customer services over the weekend and this is the latest email I recieved from them:

    Looks like EDGE won't be active until the iPhone is officially out on November 9th, until then we'll have to make do with standard GPRS speeds.

    Until then I'm going to just use the standard PAYG GPRS settings which are

    APN: payandgo.o2.co.uk
    Username: payandgo
    Password: password
     
  20. Nicolasdec macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #20
    On my O2 n95 some times i get an EDGE connection.
     
  21. LCaller thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    #21
    OK a 2nd iPhone that i set-up last week for a friend uses different settings.

    He is on O2 "Simplicity" plan and is connected on web / web , so it is very contract specific. Just try them all and see which one connects.

    EDGE is up and running, don't take no for an answer.
     
  22. tomacintosh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    #22
    What sort of speeds are you getting though? EDGE is a just a fast version of standard GPRS, the iPhone will just show that's it's connected through EDGE whatever you do because that's all it 'knows'

    You're probably connecting through standard GPRS seeing as the faster EDGE hasn't been rolled out yet
     
  23. Nicolasdec macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #23
    EDGE has not been rolled out on O2? My N95 always has an EDGE connection.
     
  24. Spanners macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells, UK
    #24
    Having now moved to the new 7.50 bolt on data plan. My settings posted above didn't work. However Thankfully Sinecurea's did. Just a confirmation!!:)

    Although having used it for 15 mins it runs like a dog! So it's probably only GPRS
     
  25. shiny-blanket macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #25
    Just to confirm the settings above work for me. Very slow though. Don't think it's worth adding the extra 7.50 bolt on. Wireless for me.
     

Share This Page