Here's a new question for you: Where should i put my charger?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by macdudesir, Dec 26, 2011.

1. macdudesir macrumors 6502

So I just got my Macbook Air yesterday, and i already have 4 cycles on the battery...I have my charger for my MBA set up in my "electronics room" with my iMac and my xbox and all of my PC's. So whenever the battery died, i just took it up there, plugged it in, but i didn't use it because i have my iMac up there right next to it. So is this maybe not the most efficient place to put my charger? I don't want to put an unnecessary strain on the battery...(yes GGJ i have read the battery FAQ :rolleyes: )

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

You can put your charger wherever you like, or take it with you when you move around. There is no right or wrong place to put the charger. If you read the FAQ, you would know that you're not putting any strain on the battery by using it on battery power or on AC power.

3. simsaladimbamba

Just put it in the socket and put the cable into the MBA whenever you feel save.
    And the FAQ should have also told you to use the battery and power adapter to its optimum.

Or you could just use it. It doesn't really matter.

4. macdudesir thread starter macrumors 6502

I mean putting very many cycles on it. The FAQ says it will hold 80% at 1000 cycles...So the more cycles i put on it, the faster it will lose charge.

5. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

You can use around a cycle a day and not hit 1000 cycles for close to 3 years. Even if it drops below 80%, the battery is still useable. It doesn't die when you reach 79% or 1001 cycles. Just run on battery when you need to and plug it in whenever you can. As long as you're not running on AC power all the time, there's nothing to worry about.... as it says in the Battery FAQ.

6. simsaladimbamba, Dec 26, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011

simsaladimbamba