Here's KitKat for the Note 3.

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by PollyK, Jan 12, 2014.

  1. PollyK, Jan 12, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2014

    PollyK macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    #1
  2. Fernandez21 macrumors 601

    Fernandez21

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    #2
    Can't wait for this if the performance enhancements are true, this phone is a complete powerhouse and it shouldn't be skipping frames the way it does.
     
  3. Dontazemebro, Jan 13, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2014

    Dontazemebro macrumors 68020

    Dontazemebro

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Location:
    I dunno, somewhere in West Texas
    #3
    Are you sure this isn't a Rick Roll video. Please don't get my hopes up :D

    I'll wait for the OTA but if anyone is willing to take the risk, can you report back if ART is available in the developer options.
     
  4. The Game 161 macrumors G5

    The Game 161

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    seeing as I bought my note 3 unlocked I imagine I will get the update earlier than most.
     
  5. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    There are reports that some international phones in poland got the update but only after being connected via Kies, not via OTA.
     
  6. Sensamic macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    #6
    I read it's not available on either the SGS4 or Note 3.

    The update merely brings three or four new minor things. No new Samsung or S Pen features.

    It's a pretty worthless update IMO.
     
  7. oldhifi, Jan 13, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2014

    oldhifi macrumors 6502a

    oldhifi

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #7
  8. blackhand1001 macrumors 68030

    blackhand1001

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #8
    I hope Samsung worked on making it not use 1.5gb of ram with no apps open. The moto x and the nexus 5 use over a gig less ram at idle.
     
  9. Dontazemebro macrumors 68020

    Dontazemebro

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Location:
    I dunno, somewhere in West Texas
    #9

    sensamic always the pessimist. I remember you saying that in the note 3 thread but I still want a first hand account if this is indeed true.
     
  10. Sensamic macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    #10
    I'm just repeating what I've read on other places. I obviously don't know for sure, that's why I said "I read that..." :D:D

    But it's true that I'm pessimistic when talking about updates that come from other manufacturers...

    But there's a reason for it. I've seen manufacturers drop stock Android features on their updates for years, so I'm not surprised if indeed Samsung or other manufacturer don't include ART on their updates.
     
  11. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #11
    ^ Have you seen samsungs GUI ? They don't exactly go in for great 'ART' anyway :p:p

    Still nothing in Kies here ..
     
  12. AQUADock macrumors 65816

    AQUADock

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    #12
    Actually i'm the who said that and i can confirm from the person who gets the leaks that ART is not in this rom, unfortunately it will most likely stay this way as the builds that get leaked are almost final.
     
  13. AmtrakRider macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    #13
    It's more like 1.3gb :D but I think thats why they gave it 3gb of RAM in the first place.
     
  14. DanBurns91 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Location:
    West Midlands, England
    #14
    My note only uses 1.06gb of ram now I've taken The weather widget off my home screen
     
  15. Dr McKay macrumors 68040

    Dr McKay

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    Kirkland
    #15
    Aw man was here reading about how some European Note 3's are getting it early, and then this notification pops up on my phone. Except it's 38MB :(

    Teasing me man.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Dontazemebro macrumors 68020

    Dontazemebro

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Location:
    I dunno, somewhere in West Texas
    #16

    Ahh bummer, I wonder why Samsung would leave out such an important feature in kitkat?
     
  17. Jibbajabba macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #17
    This is not windows, unused RAM is wasted RAM in Android.
     
  18. blackhand1001 macrumors 68030

    blackhand1001

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #18
    It has a cache of all the programs that are used often. The difference is that stock android only needs around 300mb to run the built in apps etc. Touchwiz is using over 1gb for solely the OS and built in apps its self. Not cached apps.
     
  19. mKTank macrumors 68000

    mKTank

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    #19
    Someone hasn't done his research. Unused RAM is wasted RAM in Windows as well. Except Windows 8 uses less RAM than Touchwiz. Yeah, that's pretty sad.
     
  20. The Game 161 macrumors G5

    The Game 161

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Location:
    UK
  21. gotluck macrumors 603

    gotluck

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    East Central Florida
    #21
    Does this have ART? I believe the TW GS4's build doesn't include it :( for shame.

    It's a game changer on my GE
     
  22. oldhifi macrumors 6502a

    oldhifi

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Location:
    USA
  23. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #23
    As are 99.99% of Note 3 owners ;)
     
  24. JaySoul macrumors 68020

    JaySoul

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #24
    My S4 definitely NEEDS to have ART on Kit Kat (whenever it comes).
     
  25. Dontazemebro macrumors 68020

    Dontazemebro

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Location:
    I dunno, somewhere in West Texas
    #25
    No ART, No Picassos, No collages, nothing .... Though there are claims of performance increase so it's probably not all that bad.

    Maybe Samsung copied it, added in a bit of coding and repackaged it as S-ART, who knows :D
     

Share This Page