Hey Designers! Is it ok to use Gmail as your main e-mail?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by SamIchi, Mar 26, 2010.

1. SamIchi macrumors 68030

SamIchi

Or should I use a domain specific email?

What are your thoughts on this?

2. scottness macrumors 65816

scottness

Why not use your gmail to access your domain specific email via Google Apps? I've been doing that for a few years now and don't have any reason to change it. Check out, it's free.

3. SamIchi thread starter macrumors 68030

SamIchi

I'm not talking about accessing it, but more for like business contact, like on business cards and stuff, should is it ok to use a gmail? Or does it look unprofessional? I guess it would just be to save like 12 bucks a year, but I'm not really sure about the domain name as of now.

4. citizenzen macrumors 65816

I'm sorry, but if I see a gmail or hotmail account on a resumé or business card i do look a little askance at it. It doesn't look nearly as professional (to me).

5. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

ucfgrad93

Seriously, $1 a month is too much?:p

I don't see anything wrong with using a gmail address. It is not like it is hotmail.;)

6. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

I use it on my resume. Why not use it. It's my email account

7. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

ucfgrad93

Then what would recommend someone who doesn't have his own domain to use as an email account?

8. renewed macrumors 68040

renewed

Yeah that seems fine. But he is using it for business cards.

I mean which looks more professional?

bob@gmail.com

bob@designsbybob.com

9. citizenzen macrumors 65816

Because in the professional world, it's assumed that you've built enough experience to go beyond a free email account. I'm a graphic designer and have been on a number of hiring committees. The designer who has their own domain appears more professional than the designer with a free email account.