Hey Siri - you'll need to unlock your iphone first

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by pesos, Dec 11, 2015.

  1. pesos macrumors 6502a

    pesos

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    #1
    Digging "hey siri" plus the homekit devices we've installed so far (couple ecobee3 and a schlage sense). However it's super annoying that:
    1) hey siri requires me to unlock my phone to function (defeats a good chunk of the purpose if I have to pull my phone out of my pocket to unlock it)
    2) touch id means that the only option for the screen to lock is "immediately"

    These two things in concert really put a damper on hey siri's usefulness and time savings. I can understand #1 (if someone simply imitates your voice, security can be compromised) but not really #2...
     
  2. BradWould macrumors 6502

    BradWould

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    #2
    1. Go to Settings. -> Passcode & Fingerprint In the section that reads ALLOW ACCESS WHEN LOCKED, turn on for Siri.
    2. Fixed!
     
  3. pesos thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pesos

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    #3
    Thanks, but that's on and always has been...
     
  4. BradWould macrumors 6502

    BradWould

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    #4
    That's strange. I've got a 6s+ with the hue HomeKit bridge and lights all through my house. I have no issues using "hey Siri" or regular Siri while the phone is locked.
     
  5. pesos thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pesos

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    #5
    Weird. Maybe it's because I'm trying to lock/unlock my door and it considers that some kind of higher security operation? I'll go test changing the temperature on the thermostat and see how that goes.

    I did notice that if I do hey siri via my watch, there's no need to unlock (presumably because I'm authenticating by simply wearing the watch).
     
  6. pesos thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pesos

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    #6
    The thermostat worked without prompting to unlock... So I guess maybe developers have an option to require an unlocked phone for certain operations?
     
  7. BradWould macrumors 6502

    BradWould

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    #7
    Definitely a possibility. I guess the added security makes sense when it comes to door locks. I've been thinking about the Schlage myself. But you're right you're giving up a lot of convenience for security in this situation.
     
  8. pesos thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pesos

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    #8
    And again it could be mitigated somewhat if you could still control the passcode timing when using Touch ID, but having that forced to "immediately" is a design decision I don't understand (maybe I haven't thought it through).
     
  9. BradWould macrumors 6502

    BradWould

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    #9
    The only other thing I could think to try is a different HomeKit app. I had a terrible time with Siri commands with the Hue app. I installed the iDevices app (completely free with no functions restricted/ no in app purchases) and Siri has worked like a dream. It's a long shot but if you are using the Schlage app perhaps the iDevices app would offer more functionality? It requires its own access to HomeKit so maybe it can play by its own rules. It definitely did with my lights. I verified that the lock is compatible with the app.
     
  10. pesos thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pesos

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
  11. BradWould macrumors 6502

    BradWould

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    #11
    No problem. I hope it works!
     
  12. pesos thread starter macrumors 6502a

    pesos

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    #12
    Got the app and controlling from within it manually works great, but I don't see anything in the app or anywhere on their website about how to get it to work with siri?
     
  13. BradWould, Dec 12, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2015

    BradWould macrumors 6502

    BradWould

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    #13
    If you got the pop up to add it to HomeKit. It should just work. I really have no experience with the lock. But the lights worked after that. Maybe set up a scene in the app like "I'm home" and add your lock to it. Then give it a go. Then again the lights I have are wifi and the lock is Bluetooth. You may be out of luck but it's worth a shot
     
  14. Blackshapes1980 macrumors newbie

    Blackshapes1980

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    #14
    Close! Settings. -> Passcode & Fingerprint In the section that reads ALLOW ACCESS WHEN LOCKED, turn on for HOME CONTROL. Voila!
     
  15. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #15
    That would be for Home related items it would seem, and not something that is there in iOS 9 I believe.
     
  16. Blackshapes1980 macrumors newbie

    Blackshapes1980

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    #16
    Ah that's swizz - My bad!
     

Share This Page